Hawk update

The girls are happily back in their big run again. There was much complaining during the few days they were confined to their old run while we worked to make the new one hawk proof.

We ended up doing a lot more than just adding a bit more netting. The trees without netting were close to the edge and the branches were in the way of the netting…but not in the way of the hawk! They were also the trees under the power lines that the electric company wanted removed. I decided this would be a good time to remove them. So we did. We had intended to coppice them but now I am thinking that this might be a good spot for the orchard I want to plant. Some nice short fruit trees that won’t interfere with the power lines is my new plan. So we cut them to the ground.

20130827-151402.jpg
They still may grow back, but if they do they will be small and won’t compete with the new fruit trees.

We also moved the fence a bit.  I wanted it to be a more regular shape to fit the netting better.   This means there is some new grass to eat.

20130827-151814.jpg
Prudence approves. Yum!  Briana is just happy to be back outside!

20130827-151921.jpg
Beatrix and Maeve found more yummy new grass.

20130827-152103.jpg
And Amber is happy there is still some of the old dirt for dust baths.

20130827-170359.jpg
The trees that are left have netting tied around them. Nothing is getting into this run! At least I hope not.

So for now everything is back to normal at Brookwood Shire.

20130827-170725.jpg
And that is the way I like it.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hawk update

  1. Looking good! The girls are happy and you are ahead of the power company..

  2. Chris says:

    I must admit I love seeing Hawks circling lazily above. It is a regular sight on my drive home from work and makes me thankful that my drive does not involve urban congestion. But I can see where they should be discouraged from visiting at the Shire. I’m glad you’ve got them sufficiently discouraged. Lord knows Fergus wouldn’t have been enough to keep them away. He is just not enough of a predator to keep the wild ones away.

    • pattigail says:

      Poor Fergus….he would never hurt anything..no one is afraid of him. He is just a gentle soul. Hawks are welcome to circle all they want at Brookwood shire..but they are NOT welcome in the run!

  3. I know you’ve been working hard to make things safe for your girls and I know all they really care about is that yummy grass and warm, dry dirt. But we chook-lovers appreciate your efforts to save your flock even if they don’t 🙂

  4. hobacaitbe says:

    Good job. I haven’t expanded my run yet, So the ladies and Jack only get supervised yard time. Only 1 hour today. But I’m grateful they are all still with us.
    Ed

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

