HAWK!

Today started out normal enough.  After everyone’s breakfast Fergus and I went for a long walk.  We came home and I was drying him off (there is a river on our walk and swimming is mandatory) before going out to the coop to check for eggs.  But before I could finish I heard a very loud clucking sound…loud and panicky.  I dropped the towel and rushed outside.  There were no chickens in the run, the clucking was coming from the coop.  But what was that in the run?  A bird…trapped in the run and flying up repeatedly..trapped by the netting.  But that bird was huge…that bird was a HAWK!!! IN THE RUN!  

IMG_3800

I immediately checked the coop.
IMG_3807
One, two three four..IMG_3805

..and  Amber was in the nesting box.  All there.  I closed the door to the outside so the hawk couldn’t get in. But he wasn’t trying to get in, he was trying to get out.  How did he get in?!

There is one place without netting.  It is small and there are tree branches which I thought would provide cover.

IMG_3810
But apparently not….this hawk got in.  How the girls got away is beyond me..maybe the hawk got stuck in some of the netting and got distracted.  Or maybe they were just lucky.  But they were all okay, if a little distraught.

 The hawk was pretty distraught as well.  Though I wasn’t feeling very sympathetic.

IMG_3801
I left him there and went to get my camera.  Then I took off some of the netting.  “GO!”  I told him.  “And don’t come back! And tell all your friends!”

IMG_3802
After a few tries he made it out… and good riddance to him!

IMG_3809

I went back and checked the girls. They were still upset (except for Amber who was happily sitting on three eggs and I think missed the whole thing) and NOT interested in leaving the coop. But they were able to eat a few worms without too much angst.

So everything was ok.  The outcome could have been very different.  I will be getting more bird netting and there will be NO open places in the run.  And the girls will be in their old run until then!  

At least Fergus was forgiving of his interrupted drying off.  He managed to settle in on the couch wet and have his after walk nap.

IMG_3673

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to HAWK!

  1. Oh man, a hawk!!!!!!!!! I see them flying overhead here and we keep having conversations about would the hawk go for the chickens – I guess the answer is yes. We really do need to install that bird netting. Between you and http://mygardenmychickens.wordpress.com/ I’m thinking about moving my girls into the attic!

  2. I am so glad the sweet girls are all fine.. The hawk is a beautiful bird though, and you did get some nice photos! Hopefully it is respectful of the netting and won’t attempt trying to get in again.. But finishing the space with more netting is prudent.

  3. wspines says:

    That was a close call. So glad that everyone is okay, Amber is so cute do you think that she is broody?

    • pattigail says:

      I think she may be. But she is pretty easily distracted from nesting. I know Buff Orpingtons get broody. So maybe she is just beginning. We will have to wait and see. That was a close call. I still can’t believe we had a hawk in the run! Scary!

  4. Man oh man, with all these predator issues at everyone’s places I am definitely getting nervous about our new free-ranging situation. And I am nervous anyway because we are heading into fall which in our area means bad bear season. Sigh.

  5. Very glad your chickens are all safe! (Accidentally pushed submit before I was finished before).

  6. hobacaitbe says:

    I wonder how much luck plays when you are dealing with God’s little creatures??
    Ed

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

