The Trials and Tribulations of Laying an Egg

It is not always easy to lay an egg.  At least not for my girls.  This is mostly because, despite the fact that we have multiple nesting boxes, we only have one PERFECT nesting box.   And with five hens, the timing is sometimes tricky.  Today was one of those days.

As usual, most of the trouble was caused by sweet little Amber.  Amber does not lay every day, though she will sometimes sit on eggs she “finds”.  She loves sitting on eggs.  Usually, she lays last so she can sit as long as she wants.  But today she wanted to lay early.  Briana had  finished and Prudence is always next.  But today Amber got there first.

IMG_3748
Prudence was not happy to find Amber in the box!
IMG_3773

And Amber looked like she was settled in for awhile.

That was when I knew this would be one of those days.  After an hour, Amber had still not laid her egg.  So I gave out some worms and she came down.  I assumed that Prudence would just grab the nesting box and things would return to normal.  But apparently the worms distracted her as well.  When I checked later, everyone was in the run but Amber.  She must be back in the nesting box, I thought.   But when I checked she wasn’t there.  She was here.
IMG_3746
That was a first! No one has ever used those nesting boxes! Perfect. Amber could sit all day and not bother anyone.

Just then, Prudence came in.  She wondered what Amber was doing in THAT nesting box.  As if on cue, Amber got down.

IMG_3753
And as you can see, she left no egg behind.
She proceeded to go up to the perfect nesting box before Prudence could get there.

IMG_3765
Prudence couldn’t believe it!  Is it my imagination or does Amber appear to be saying, “Nyah-nya-nya-nya-nyaaah”?

Poor Prudence was beside herself.

IMG_3781
She got into another nesting box and just stood there complaining.
IMG_3785
Luckily it wasn’t very long before Amber laid her egg.

IMG_3792
And Prudence could at last have the nesting box. Ahhh!

IMG_3793
Don’t get too comfortable Prudence, it looks like Beatrix wants the box now!

So you see, it is just not always that easy to lay an egg.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Trials and Tribulations of Laying an Egg

  1. too cute, they are…. 🙂 never a dull moment in the Shire.

  2. wspines says:

    You are so right its not always easy to lay an egg. They certainly are entertaining. Yes the fair is this weekend. I am feeling better, If I am around the hay for any amount of time it comes back so I am careful. I won’t be there tomorrow I am only there on Saturday. See you next week, How about Thursday?

  3. pattigail says:

    Oh, sorry to have missed you at the fair. I think Thursday is fine. I will check with Bill and let you know. Take care.

  4. I find it hilarious that these little animals evolved to live in a flock, like to sit on each other’s eggs yet still seem surprised when the only good laying spot has a chicken in it. They’re adorable, why should I expect them to be clever as well?

  5. Pingback: Farewell Sweet Amber | Life at Brookwood Shire

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

