Pesto

Today was a beautiful day.  The horrible heatwave that engulfed us last week has ended!  We still need rain, the storm they promised for last night never materialized, but at least it is pleasant to be outside again.  

And while I HATE hot weather, especially hot and humid weather, basil seems to like it.  As a result, the gardens are overflowing with basil.  A very good “problem” to have.  And since my garlic is harvested, the obvious thing to do is to make some pesto.

It is simple to make and wonderful on pasta.  I have been making it for years.  I use the recipe from the original Moosewood Cookbook.  Interestingly they came out with a revised version of that book which changed this recipe.  I can’t imagine why.  I still make it the original way.

IMG_3614
You will need garlic, basil, nuts, oil, romano cheese, and for this recipe, parsley and butter.  Cat is optional.

After washing the basil,  

IMG_3617
remove the leaves from the stems. That is the time consuming part.  The rest is very quick.

IMG_3618
Do the same with the parsley.  The recipe calls for 3 cups of basil and 3/4 cup of parsley but I don’t measure anymore.  I use what I have…the parsley doesn’t like heat so I don’t have as much of that.  But it will be fine.

IMG_3621

Put 2 cloves of garlic in a food processor. I sometimes use more, but this is my garlic. The cloves are big and it is pretty strong, so I think 2 will be enough.  Add the basil and parsley.  Pulse.  It grinds up quickly.

IMG_3622
Melt half a stick of butter. (1/4 cup) A microwave is perfect for this.
IMG_3623
Add nuts.  Traditional pesto uses pine nuts, but they are very expensive so I use walnuts.  I throw in a couple of handfuls.  The recipe calls for 3/4 cup.  This is a very flexible recipe.

Add 1/2 cup of olive oil.  IMG_3625And a few handfuls of cheese.                                                  I use Romano. Parmesan also works but I prefer Romano. Whatever you like.  The recipe calls for 3/4 cup of cheese.    Turn on the food processor and mix.   
IMG_3626Pour in the melted butter. And mix again.  Just a quick pulse should do it.

IMG_3628
Put the pesto in a bowl. Try not to eat it while the pasta is cooking.

Enjoy!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Gardens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pesto

  1. Looks wonderful!! Your garlic made it !

  2. pattigail says:

    Bill is cooking the pasta now….can’t wait! Yum!

  3. That looks incredible! I think I’m looking at making this for dinner tonight – It makes my mouth water just looking at it. By the way, we both know the cat is not optional, especially if you ask the cat! My Megan not only cooks with me, but would eat off our plates if we let her (that’s where we’ve drawn the line). I know it freaks a lot of people out having a cat on the dining room table, but we tell our guests if they can’t handle it, eat at home… I would never tell someone who had me as a guest in their home to remove their children from the table, so why should I, just because my child is a cat? I must say, my cats are usually better behaved than most children, too!
    Great post – Very entertaining!

    • pattigail says:

      We have tried unsuccessfully to convince Merlin that he should be on the floor. He thinks being closest to the food…any food..is the place to be. So like all cat owners, we adapt.😊 Glad you enjoyed the blog…and the pesto. Welcome to Brookwood Shire.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

