Garlic

I love garlic.  I use it in sauces and soups.  I stirfry it with veggies and I put it in omelets and quiches.  But I have never grown it before.  Until this year.  Last Fall I took the plunge and planted some.  I didn’t order special garlic, I just used what we had.
Green shoots came up very quickly. Oh no, I thought..that is too early. Then we had a frost and the garlic shoots died back. I wasn’t sure I would ever see it again.   So I was pleasantly surprised this Spring when more green shoots emerged.IMG_2752
They survived the construction of the new raised beds without getting stepped on too many times.
IMG_2923
They grew bigger and bigger. Many people thought they were leeks, they grew so big.

By mid June the tips of the leaves started to turn brown.
IMG_3399
That is supposed to happen. They grew scapes, which I removed so the plants could put their energy into making bulbs. When the leaves die back, I was told, they will be ready. Mid July usually.

Well mine looked ready today so I dug one up.  The bulbs were big.  I dug around the bulb, loosening the soil and pulled them up.  It looked ready to me.  So I dug up the rest of them.

I tied them together and hung them to dry.IMG_3579
I am not sure how long they have to dry. I hope I can wait that long.IMG_3601
I think there is some pesto in my future. Yum!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Garlic

  1. hobacaitbe says:

    Love growing garlic, it is the first sign of life in the garden. “Scapes” I thought they were snapes?? Did you cut up your young “scapes” and add them to a salad or a stir-fry??
    Ed

  2. carole adams says:

    The garlic looks great, I am a bit behind you, my garlic isn’t quite ready yet Great pictures

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks. It was exciting digging it up. I was hoping for big beautiful bulbs, and there they were!😊 How long does it have to dry before you can use it? I wish I had planted more.

      • carole adams says:

        You can use it now, I usually leave it dry for month or so Cut off the roots now and I clean the dirt off of them sometimes the first layer of covering comes, that is ok

  3. I really want to grow my own garlic. My last attempt was a total failure. But yours looks so wonderful that you’ve inspired me to try again.

    • pattigail says:

      I think I might have had beginners luck….it was very easy. I planted in the Fall and let it winter over and come up in the Spring, but since you don’t really have winter, it might be different there. Good luck!

      • The rule of thumb here is to plant on the shortest day of the year and harvest on the longest. I’ve just missed the shortest and we still haven’t moved into the farm so the veggie bed is a way off – it looks like this might be one of next year’s goals.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

