A New Car

Yesterday, our 12 year old VW Golf died. Not good. Bill was able to revive it by disconnecting the battery and then connecting it again. But then the alarm started going off every time we started it or opened a door. And the “check engine” light is on.

20130703-172802.jpg
It is our only car and sudden death, even if it can be revived, is a bad feature in a car. And alarms going off is not good either. Interestingly, no one so much as looked at us as we got in and drove off in a car with the alarm beeping. So I wonder if those alarms have any use but to be annoying at times. In any case, we decided it might just be time to think about another car. Our poor little Golf has been aging and a lot of little things don’t really work any more. I have been stubbornly keeping it going because cars are expensive and I would much prefer to spend my money on flowers or chicken treats or even “dirt” for the gardens.

But even I admit that an unreliable car is bad. Repair it? Invest more money? Hope that nothing else will go wrong? Or just get another one. How much would that be? And if we don’t want to repair this, do we just keep our fingers crossed until we find something? Those were my thoughts this morning. A quick look online at “pre owned” cars was a bit shocking. We need a 4 door car so Fergus can get in the back seat.(he has never been able to figure out how to get in from a front door). We need a hatchback because I use the car as a truck for gardening and chicken things. I need to be able to fit bales of straw into the car. Not to mention the Christmas tree and the occasional bit of lumber. The Golf has been a great little working car. I prefer a manual transmission and think blue is only color that a car should be. And I like small cars. But the cars I saw listed were mostly bigger cars and most had automatic transmissions and lots of frills and features I don’t need or want. And they were very expensive! A lot more than I paid for the Golf. I know that was 12 years ago but still. So I checked small, no frills, base cars….how much are they new? Amazingly they were a lot less than the used cars. And I could get a blue one!

After a bit more research, I had it narrowed down to the Honda Fit or the Toyota Yaris (I checked VW Golfs but they are more expensive). And since we have a Toyota/Honda dealership in town we went there. No Yaris. And a manual transmission is no longer available in a Yaris! Oh my, I am getting too old. I am only just getting used to power windows. The Golf has a cassette player! They had a Honda Fit. Very cute. We took it for a drive and it was nice. They had a blue one but it was an automatic! But after a search, he found a blue one with a manual transmission nearby. He could get it for me. It was blue. It was a hatchback. It had 4 doors and it was a manual. And since a friend of mine has one, I know it holds 4 bales of straw! And while it was expensive, it was less than the used cars.

20130703-180214.jpg
It should be here on Saturday, but here is a picture of one I found online.

I will miss my Golf. It has been a great little car. It has served me well. But I guess it is time to move on. It is a little sad to say good bye….

20130703-180658.jpg
…..so I will just say, “Happy trails to you……”

The more vintage among us will know the song….

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A New Car

  1. Oh dear.. 😦 I have an extra Markey sticker (even though the election is passed) which you may have if it will help you feel more “at home”.. Cute new car!

  2. Actually, my friend, Judy has a blue Fit! She likes it a lot!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

