Making Yogurt

The yogurt maker I ordered arrived yesterday. That was very quick since I only ordered it a few days ago.

20130626-133041.jpg
Today I decided to try it out and make my first batch of homemade yogurt. It came with small containers. They are nice glass containers. I am sure they will be very useful for something, but they are too small for the quantities of yogurt I want to make. So I will use wide mouth canning jars instead. This yogurt maker has that option by including a taller lid.

20130626-133446.jpg
The instruction booklet that came with the yogurt maker says you can use milk right from the refrigerator, but all the recipes I have read heat and then cool the milk. It would certainly be convenient to not have to heat the milk, and I will try it that way, but today, since it is my first time making yogurt, I decided to follow a recipe. I chose the simplest one I could find…just milk and yogurt starter. Some people add dry milk as well to thicken it, but since I am using whole milk, I am hoping it will not need it.

It is a very simple process. Pour the milk into a pan and heat it. My recipe says to heat it to 180 degrees. That may vary a bit and I don’t know how precise you actually have to be….just under boiling I think. I used a thermometer to make sure, but I suspect that becomes optional as you become more experienced.

20130626-134414.jpg
As always when heating milk,you need to stir it occasionally. It didn’t take very long. When it is hot enough, you need to cool it down to 110-115 degrees.

20130626-134942.jpg
I put some cold water in the sink and put the pan in the sink.
While it is cooling you can get your yogurt starter ready.

20130626-135219.jpg
You can buy yogurt starter or just use a good plain yogurt that has lots of active culture in it. I used Sidehill Farm yogurt. It is pretty local and uses milk from grass fed cows.

20130626-135641.jpg
I used 4 1/2 tablespoons for my 6 cups of milk. First put the yogurt in a small bowl or container.

20130626-135828.jpg
Add a cup of the cooled milk to the yogurt and stir.

20130626-140025.jpg
When it is mixed, pour it back into the pan with the rest of the milk. Or I suppose you could add the rest of the milk to the yogurt if you had mixed it in a large enough bowl.

20130626-140346.jpg
Either way, mix it together and pour it into your jars. In hindsight, had I used a larger batter bowl it would have been easier. I could have poured from there. Because I used the pan, I ladled it into a measuring cup first and then poured it in.
Once your jars are full, they are ready for the yogurt maker. Do not put the lids on.

20130626-141114.jpg
Put the jars in the yogurt maker and put the cover on. Turn on the yogurt maker and you are done. My yogurt maker says it takes 8-12 hours until the yogurt is ready. I will check it after 8 hours and see if it is ready. If not I will give it some more time. I think the taller jars may take longer than the small ones.

So now I just have to wait. Fingers crossed for thick creamy yogurt! I will let you know tomorrow.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making Yogurt

  1. bridget says:

    I never had any success making yogurt. Maybe I need one of those machines. Good luck with it.

  2. You are a busy woman! The yogurt looks like it will be good, and cheaper for all you give to the girls! Did you ever give Fergus any? I bet he and Merlin would enjoy some too. See you later..

    • pattigail says:

      Merlin doesn’t like yogurt. He prefers butter or cream cheese. Fergus will eat it, but it is a bit tart for him….Bill doesn’t like it either. So i guess it is just for me and the girls.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

