Amber, Watch Chicken

Amber has a habit of alerting me about many things. Some are important, like the day Briana managed to get out of the run and Amber tattled on her. But mostly she is telling me that she wants the nesting box and someone else is using it, or she is ready for some yogurt or another treat. She lets me know if it starts to rain or if the wind is especially scary. So this morning when she started making lots of noise I didn’t rush out there. But it was very early for her to be making such a racket so I looked out.

20130625-093426.jpg
The girls were all clustered in the entrance to the temporary run and they were making a lot of noise.

Since they were all there, no one had escaped and no one was using the nesting box. They must just want their yogurt.

But when I got closer, I saw a young bear cub coming around the shed.

20130625-093813.jpg
I didn’t have the camera so I couldn’t get a picture, but this is where he was. Just peeking around the corner, coming from the woods. “Where is your Mom?” Was my immediate thought. No wonder the girls were so upset!

I didn’t like that they were in the temporary run….it may be hawk proof and a barrier from foxes, but a bear would have no trouble getting in. I wanted them in the real run, or better yet the coop but I wasn’t about to get between a mother bear and her cub. I watched and waited. The cub went back behind the shed, but the girls were still squawking and they were looking at the run. They clearly wanted to go in but something was stopping them.

20130625-094759.jpg
I think Mama Bear must have been in the woods behind the run.

20130625-094900.jpg
There is a path there. It goes from the power lines and cuts through a wooded section between the houses. Bears sometimes use it. It is a cool and shady path.

Luckily Mama Bear was just passing through. And her curious cub decided to get a bit too close for Amber. It was scary but no harm was done.

20130625-095839.jpg
Perhaps Amber scared them off!

In any case, things got quickly back to normal. A little yogurt calmed everyone down. And then it was back to pecking and scratching…..

20130625-100617.jpg
Hopefully, Mama Bear will not return for awhile.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Amber, Watch Chicken

  1. hobacaitbe says:

    Wow, I’m glad I don’t have bears to worry about.
    Ed

  2. Oh my goodness!! Watch chickens! Now they certainly earned the yogurt today! I haven’t seen a bear in close to 2 years now, and I live in Conway!! Lucky!

    • pattigail says:

      We haven’t seen as many as we used to. Which is fine with me. I wouldn’t have seen this one though without Amber’s alert. I am glad they weren’t interested in chicken for breakfast!

  3. Next time my girls send out the alarm when they see the neighbourhood stray cat I’ll explain to them the difference between bears and cats and put them in their place!

    I love that you use yogurt to calm your girls, that trick obviously works everywhere on the planet, bears, cats or scary winds all can be fended off with a good bowl of dairy šŸ™‚

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

