Summer Gardens

Summer arrived, precisely on schedule on the Solstice. It has been hot and humid since then. Not my favorite season. I know basil and tomatoes like it, but personally, temperatures near or above 90F are way too hot for me. I have never liked it, not even as a child. But it is part of living in New England. We get extreme heat in the summer and extreme cold in the winter. I am always amazed that anything survives here.

A walk around the gardens shows a shift. The spring plants are unhappy in the heat, while the summer plants are coming into their own.

The spinach is done. The peas are going.

20130623-114416.jpg
We have a few pea pods left, but no new flowers. It is too hot for them.

20130623-114652.jpg
The lettuce is still beautiful, but it can bolt quickly in this heat. The garlic I planted in the Fall is almost ready.

20130623-115124.jpg
The broccoli heads are just starting.

20130623-115326.jpg
The green beans are up and climbing up the poles and the nasturtiums are looking very happy.

20130623-120127.jpg
We have a baby cucumber! And there are lots more flowers.

20130623-120317.jpg
The strawberries are ripening! They are still a bit tart so I am trying to be patient and give them a few more days.

20130623-120445.jpg
Flowers have appeared on the tomato plants.

But it is not all good news.

20130623-120910.jpg
Something is eating the eggplant and it isn’t growing very well.

20130623-121049.jpg
The pumpkins have some yellow leaves. I suspect they are too wet. They are in a wet area. Usually it is only wet in the spring, but we have had lots of rain this year. They are raised up a bit so I thought they would be alright. But the yellow leaves are not a good sign. They do have green leaves as well though and they are growing so I will hope for the best.

20130623-121354.jpg
Potato plants have magically appeared in the potato patches….

20130623-121614.jpg
…..but a few have shriveled….no idea why. I hope some survive.

But….

20130623-122120.jpg
…these volunteer raspberries are looking promising.

And we have a volunteer tree that blossomed for the first time this year.20130623-123453.jpg
And something is growing. We had thought it was some kind of apple, but when the Arborist from the electric company was here, he thought it was a pear tree. I have never had a fruit tree before so I have no idea. We will just have to wait and see.

The gardens are ever changing. It is hard to believe that it was only a few months ago that any new growth seemed miraculous. Now things are so lush and green. Fruits and vegetables that were just a hope in the spring, are now growing and ripening. And we are literally eating the fruits of our labor. It is such an amazing process. As the summer goes on I am sure there will be more wonderful treats…and probably a few disappointments.

And I can’t wait!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, summer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Gardens

  1. It all looks wonderful! Good luck!

  2. You have so much on the go, well done. Those transitions between seasons are always a little strange, to see some things dying and others are just hitting their stride! It never ceases to amaze me at the variety in nature.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

