Making Yogurt

I love yogurt. For many years I have been thinking about making my own, but never quite got around to it. And then I discovered that chickens LOVE yogurt. Do not ask me why. They are birds. While all mammals drink their mother’s milk initially, birds do not. But after hearing from all chicken lovers that yogurt is a favorite treat, I tried it. My girls never hesitated. They dove right into the very first yogurt they were given. Literally. It is the most comical thing. They get yogurt on their beaks, faces, feathers…they eat it off each other. Their little faces get covered in it. They just LOVE it. It has calcium for their egg shells, and the probiotics are good for their digestion. A win win for sure. So I give them yogurt every day.

20130621-081140.jpgA yummy treat for sure!

I have been buying Nancy’s OrganicYogurt for them. I chose it because it comes in 64 oz containers. Between my girls and me, we go through a lot of yogurt.

20130621-082232.jpg
But it is getting expensive and I know it would be cheaper to make my own. It would also be better to eat a more local yogurt. Nancy’s is made in Eugene, OR so it travels quite a ways to get here. And what could be more local than my own kitchen?

After a bit of research on line, watching videos and reading reviews I decided to get a yogurt maker. It is of course possible to make yogurt without one, people have been doing it for many years, but it apparently takes a bit of practice to get it right. And our house is pretty chilly in the winter. So I decided to get a yogurt maker. Now, which one? My criteria was a large glass container not plastic, and not those little containers. I will make large quantities I think. It seemed you could get small glass containers or large plastic ones! But finally, just as I was about to give up, I found this.

20130621-083346.jpg
Yolife makes a yogurt maker with options! It comes with small glass containers AND a taller lid so you can use your own containers. The reviews were mostly good and it was on sale with free shipping. Perfect!
At least I hope so. It should arrive next week. I can’t wait to try it.

I will be post my adventures with it soon.

20130621-084058.jpg

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Hens, Sustainability and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Yogurt

  1. Fantastic. I make my own yogurt, have for almost a year now. I always use the last batch of yogurt as starter for my next batch – I’ve never purchased yogurt starter, just used a storebought one as a starter – and it works a treat. Once, for whatever reason, my yogurt culture died and I ended up with curdled milk (which my chickens LOVED) so I just bought a tub of fresh yogurt, used that to start a batch and off I went again.

    I started making yogurt because I use it regularly, especially since learning my chooks love it so much, and I like to make anything I can myself. It’s very easy and costs 1/4 of what buying from the store does for me.

    Good luck with it, I’ll be watching for your post on how you and your girls like it!

  2. eremophila says:

    Beautiful hens!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

