A Bit of Irish Weather

We are having a bit of Irish weather today. Rainy and cool. I am sure there are many people grumbling about it but I love it. It is good for the gardens. I had hoped to finish the planting today but it is too wet. So it is a day off. Time to sit and reflect a bit on how the season has been going.

Almost everything is planted now. I have just a few annuals left over. I will plant them at the edges of some of the beds for just a bit of color. I found a home for some of the Roma tomatoes and for some of the extra lettuces, so I won’t need to make that extra garden after all. I even found time this week end to tidy up the woodland garden. The sweet woodruff had completely taken over and the rest of the plants were smothering. I set aside some for a friend and composted the rest. A few wheelbarrows full! I added a few Impatiens to brighten it up a bit.

20130610-145003.jpg
Bill shredded our last pile of leaves so I was able to add some fresh mulch. It is a cool shady spot for those hot summer days.

The girls are in today because of the rain, but they have been having a wonderful time in their new run.

20130610-150420.jpg
There is netting on almost all of it now so Briana has not escaped and they are protected from hawks.

The gardens are coming along. The spinach is almost done, some of it bolted during the hot weather a few days ago, but the peas are coming.

20130610-150623.jpg
We had a lovely pasta a few nights ago with pea pods and peppers and mushrooms. Soon we will have peas!

We have baby strawberries!

20130610-150817.jpg
Not ripe yet, but berries are forming and there are lots of flowers! I can’t wait!

The raspberries have come to life.

20130610-150939.jpg
All five plants have growth now. They are late bearing so it will be awhile before we have berries. We do have a volunteer raspberry bush that has berries forming. Berries in cream are definitely in my future.

I don’t have a picture, but the potato beds also have plants emerging. Magical really.

And we have lettuce galore!

20130610-151328.jpg
Some I started from seed, some from the farmer’s market, and some in pots. They will go in where the spinach was. If if doesn’t get too hot, too fast we should be okay.

It is nice to pause for a time and think about all the work of the past few months. I am hoping for a bountiful harvest!

Tomorrow morning I am scheduled to meet with the Arborist from National Grid. They want to spray Round Up on the power lines nearby and I am not happy about it. I have worked my way up to the Arborist and I won’t stop there. They do not have the right to poison the land…or the water. There are other ways to protect their wires. I am hoping it is a productive conversation. I am hoping they will come to understand my point of view and respect it. There is an opportunity here for a happy outcome. But I will stand up for Brookwood Shire and all its inhabitants and neighbors. It is time to say no to the convenience of poison and to find other ways to live with Nature and all her creatures.

Wish me luck!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens, Nature and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Bit of Irish Weather

  1. Best of Luck tomorrow! You will make your point. Think of the Arborist as an overgrown student.. 🙂 Plus, it may be all good, anyway.. Keep us informed!

  2. Good grief, it looks like you’ll soon have to set up a shop to sell the fruits of your labour. It all looks great, especially the safe and spacious chook run (sorry, I’m partial to chickens so they always get my attention in any post). Well done!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

