The Planting Continues

It has been very hot here over the last couple of days. A bit of a shock really.  We had a frost last week and now it is almost 80F and very humid.  Even though we are still not officially past our frost free date, there is no frost in the long term forecast, so I decided to go ahead and plant the tender veggies and herbs.  The gardens are starting to take shape.

IMG_3183
The cucumbers are planted here in front of the cucumber trellis. Vertical planting saves space in the garden.
IMG_3180
The beans will also grow up. Behind the beans, in the herb garden,  is some summer savory. I read pole beans like it so I planted some.  Nasturtiums will be very cheery beside the beans,  and they will attract bees.

IMG_3166
I have placed soaker hoses in the beds. Bill has cleverly cut a hose and attached it so I can connect the soaker hoses in the beds and not water the paths. Last year I had one long soaker hose and it watered the paths as well as the beds which seems wasteful. So this year, we cut the soaker hoses to fit the beds and connected them with pieces of hose. This should keep most of the water in the bed.  I will cover the hoses with straw to keep the moisture in.

IMG_3167
Here is a better picture of how the system works. This garden is pretty much planted for now. So I moved on to the new raised beds. IMG_3172
Brandywine tomatoes and basil in one bed. The brandywines are red and gold. The seeds were color coded but I have lost track of which is which. It will be fun to see what color they are.  You can see the end of the soaker hose sticking up.  Bill hasn’t connected them yet.
IMG_3173
Cherry tomatoes and more basil in another bed. I love pesto and there is no such thing as too much basil for me.

When I got to the third bed, the one that had had the greenhouse thing on it, I noticed that some ants had decided to take up residence.  I don’t know if they were good ants or bad ants, but since I have had ants kill flowers before I didn’t want them in my garden.

IMG_3170
Mint to the rescue.  I have lots of this varigated mint.  I think whatever mint you have, you have lots of it.  I know ants 
don’t like spearmint so I thought they might not like this either.  I planted it where the ants were and in a few other places and left the bed while I did other things.  In a few hours, I checked and the ants were gone.  The magic of mint!

IMG_3169
The peppers ended up in this bed. They were supposed to go behind the chard in the other bed, but the brussel sprouts were not happy in their pots so I decided to plant them a few days ago and that space was available. So the peppers ended up here.  If the mint tries to take over the bed, I can just pull it out.  I have some small chard that can go in here as well.

IMG_3171
The eggplant and some lettuce ended up in the fourth bed. There is still a bit of room if we need it for something.

Once the hoses are done I will plant scarlet runner beans to climb up the bamboo poles in the center of the garden.

I still have one more bed to plant, the “apple tree” bed,  but tomorrow is another day.

IMG_3176

Soon I will be able to sit on my bench and just watch it all grow!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Planting Continues

  1. BEAUTIFUL!! Your vision is coming to life!

  2. Spring growth – nothing beats it.

  3. hobacaitbe says:

    It looks like your husband is good for raised bed building and irrigation.
    Ed

    • pattigail says:

      And maybe a few other things. He is a reluctant gardener, but he does help with the more technical things. He doesn’t like digging in the dirt though. Which works because I love that part.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

