The New Potato Patch

After finishing the potato patch last week, I discovered that the potatoes in the cellar had sprouted. Apparently the cellar is getting too warm. Then a friend gave me some seed potatoes because she had too many. Well, the first potato patch was easy, why not make a second one?

I rewatched the video on You Tube. It is called No Dig Potatoes. On second viewing I began to wonder if I had used enough compost in the first potato patch. Hmm, maybe I should do another one, with more compost and compare the results. And this time, I could take pictures to share.

If this method works it is certainly easy. So I began again.

20130519-173651.jpg
I gathered some cardboard, some old newspapers, as much poopy straw as I could find, some compost, and some bonemeal, some wood shavings (poopy ones from the coop under the stairs) and the potatoes.

The first step is to put compost down on the ground and spread it out.

20130519-174029.jpg
Then put down a thick layer of newspapers. I used some cardboard as well.

20130519-174220.jpg
Water well so the newspapers are wet.

20130519-174549.jpg
Place the potatoes on the wet newspaper. Because I had so many potatoes, I didn’t cut them, I just used the whole potatoes.

20130519-174742.jpg
Cover the potatoes with poopy straw. I didn’t have enough poopy straw so I mixed in regular straw. Add more compost, sprinkle in the bonemeal. Water as you go. More manure would probably be better. The video also suggested “blood and bone” and dolomite. But I used what I had.

20130519-175013.jpg
Add wood shavings to keep out the light. I used some poopy shavings and some regular. Water again.

And that is it. According to the video, you just leave it for the season. The potato plants will grow through the moist straw and emerge at some point. In the fall, you harvest them. So that is the plan. As with so many things in the gardens this year, this is a bit of an experiment. I have great luck sprouting potatoes in dark places….this is an extension of that. So we shall see…..

And I will keep you posted.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The New Potato Patch

  1. pattigail says:

    For some reason this went out to facebook but not to e mail subscribers. If any email subscribers did receive it please let me know. Sorry about the confusion. Patti

  2. I got it no problem.

    Those red potatoes have sooooo many sprouts. You’re going to have quite the crop. I’m sure they’ll love the poopy shaving. Yummm – roast potatoes, mashed potatoes, potato salad – I foresee a lot of good eatin’ comin’ your way.

    • pattigail says:

      They are pretty amazing aren’t they? And they did that in a covered basket in the cellar…given some nice poopy straw and yummy compost, there will be no stopping them! I hope.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

