Growth in the Gardens

It has been a busy few days here at Brookwood Shire. The gardens are all coming along nicely as Nature continues to bloom in abundance. Recent rains have caused an explosion of greenery every where. The leaves are fully out and there is a greenish hue to the world. Just wonderful.

We are still not past our last frost date here so tender plants are still in their pots, out in the sunshine during the day and tucked safely into the little greenhouses or in the house at night. But the more hardy things have been planted.

20130511-133326.jpg
The peas are getting bigger every day. They will start to climb soon. I planted two kinds this year. The “regular” climbing kind and an heirloom type that is short. The package said 18″ and they don’t need any support. I planted a row of them in front of the others, a bit away from the pea fence. They seem the same as the others so far.

20130511-133733.jpg
The beet greens are up and looking happy around the blood sorrel.

20130511-134510.jpg
The spinach is looking quite delicious.

20130511-134718.jpg
And the chard is coming. My chard is still small in the pots. It will go in later. This is from the Farmer’s Market and is doing well.

20130511-135204.jpg
The broccoli is looking hardy. It was still small and delicate when I planted it. It likes dill so I planted some of that as well to keep it company.

20130511-140138.jpg
I planted the Brussels sprouts in pots for now. They were supposed to go in with the broccoli but there wasn’t room. They may go where the peas are when the peas are done.

The tender plants are finally looking ready for the outdoors. No longer babies, their time will come.

20130511-140510.jpg
In a couple of weeks it should be safe to plant them outside.

20130511-140743.jpg
Meanwhile, I potted up a few herbs with some alyssum. They are quite beautiful and will nicely disguise an old stump in the yard.

20130511-141742.jpg
I read somewhere that blueberries like lupines and so do I, so I added a few to the blueberry bed.

The girls continue to work on the pumpkin patch.

20130511-142314.jpg
Though there is still a lot of grass. It is a big space for five girls to clear, especially when they insist on going back to the coop to lay their eggs!

The latest addition to Brookwood Shire is my potato patch.

20130511-142544.jpg
It is another permaculture experiment. I saw a video on You Tube of one in Australia. You basically put down a thin layer of compost and then a thick layer of wet newspapers. You place the potatoes on the newspaper and cover with straw. Add manure and more compost to the straw. Water as you go. Add some wood shavings to block out the sun and just leave it. At the end of the summer you should have potato plants and tons of potatoes! Wouldn’t that be wonderful! If it doesn’t work I at least will have a new bed all ready for planting next year. And since I had potatoes sprouting in the cellar and I had newspapers, straw, compost and manure, it only cost me a couple of hours time. Fingers crossed for a good crop.

So you can see it has been a very busy few days here.

And while I was busy working on the veggie gardens, Nature did this…

20130511-143718.jpg
..in the woodland gardens. It is a glorious time of year! Enjoy!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature, Seasons, Spring and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Growth in the Gardens

  1. WOW!! Everything looks beautiful! I am a potato picker from W a y back in Houlton, Maine, so when that harvest time comes, call me.. 🙂

  2. Darn that mother nature – she just had to show you up didn’t she. Let’s hope she takes pity on you and makes your veggie garden bountiful this year!

    • pattigail says:

      Let’s hope! Though I don’t pretend to compete with her….learn and copy the way she does it seems the best approach. But bountiful veggies would be very nice!

  3. It all looks great!!! Where did you find those red trellises? And what are those green trellis-like things behind the chard? I am currently contemplating the trellises for my new garden.

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks. The red thing is called a pea fence or trellis. The green things are called vegetable ladders. I have some taller ones for tomatoes. They are from Gardener’s Supply. They have lots of trellis etc. some you might even be able to make yourself. So it is good for ideas. It is also a workers cooperative which is nice. They are in VT. Here is the link. http://www.gardeners.com/Outdoor-Living-SD/OutdoorLiving_SD,default,sc.html

      Your gardens were coming along nicely as of your last post. Can’t wait to see them “in action”. Isn’t Spring wonderful?

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

