Amber’s Egg

With the longer days and warmer weather, my girls have been laying more consistently. Most days we get five eggs, one from each hen. But they do not all lay at the same time. That is good since despite the fact that there are multiple nesting boxes, they all like to use the same one. So I check often during the day. Amber is often last.

Yesterday I had gathered four eggs through out the day. All but Amber’s egg.

20130504-195526.jpg
Though she was in the nesting box so it looked like it was going to be another five egg day.

I went up to check an hour or so later and she was STILL in the nesting box!

20130504-195903.jpg
Though she was not settled. I checked under her. No egg.

20130504-200004.jpg
She checked as well. Definitely no egg.

20130504-200353.jpg
She got down so I figured it was a four egg day after all.
But when I went up later….there was an egg in the nesting box…a tiny egg!

20130504-200613.jpg
Here it is next to Amber’s egg from the day before.

Curious, I broke it into a small bowl. There was a thick membrane under the shell. The shell broke in tiny pieces.

20130504-201253.jpg
And NO yolk! Just egg white in the tiny egg!

20130504-201459.jpg
Never mind Amber, tomorrow is another day!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Amber’s Egg

  1. wspines says:

    Patti,
    Chickens are so interesting. You never know just what will kind of egg you will get from day to day. I just love the odd eggs. The next one may be a double-yoke. Amber is so sweet.

  2. My girls have produced tiny eggs but never one with no yolk. Time for macaroons perhaps?

    I never know whether to laugh or worry when one of my girls goes into the nest box (like you, I’ve provided several for my girls; like yours, my girls all wrestle for the one box) and comes out without depositing an egg. Today Isabel did just that. Time will tell whether she goes back for a second try. It is autumn here and there are a lot of feathers around the yard so I’m thinking they are moulting and hence laying less. But they seem to expect an egg a day even if their bodies don’t make one – funny little critters.

    Amber is a beautiful chicken – and aptly named. I bet she’s a real sweetie.

    • pattigail says:

      She is the sweetest. A Buff Orpington, and true to her breed, very friendly. She actually likes having her picture taken. A real doll.

      I worry a bit as well, but I think she just had an off day. She stopped laying altogether this winter….so who knows?

      Your girls are probably just reacting to the change of season…though it doesn’t exactly get cold there, does it? Not to mention you have Fall in the Spring. And summer at Christmas. It must have taken some getting used to. Though being able to grow food all year seems like a very good thing!

      Patti

      • I think it depends on your definition of cold. If I have to wear a coat and long sleeves, I call it cold. But it never freezes, the chickens never stop laying, the bees never stop foraging so I guess you might not call it cold.

        Christmas never feels like Christmas here but, you’re right, harvesting from my garden all year totally compensates for never having a white Christmas (does white sand at the beach qualify?)

  3. strange.. I loved when she was looking too!

  4. Fran says:

    I have just had a lovely couple of hours at Brookwood going through your archives. I love what you are doing and will follow with interest xxx

  5. Pingback: The Egg with No Shell | Life at Brookwood Shire

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

