Raspberries, Blueberries and Strawberries

 

 

I have been thinking about getting some berry bushes for awhile now. I absolutely love berries….on cereal, in yogurt, with cream or just by the handful. And despite the fact that modern supermarkets sell berries all year, they are best in the summer when freshly picked. In fact modern supermarkets and their insistence on having all fruit all the time is ruining fruit. Yes, you can get strawberries in January…but how do they taste? And peaches. Peaches were my favorite fruit as a child. I couldn’t wait for peach season. They were such a treat. But now supermarkets have them for months. But they are rarely good. Underripe and hard. And they don’t ripen. No, fruit is best in season…freshly picked. And it is worth waiting for. It is more special because its season is brief. And what could be nicer than going out into your garden on a summer morning and picking a few berries to put on your cereal.

 

Yes, I would like that.  So planting some berry bushes seems like a good idea.  I wanted to get the beds started last Fall but I wasn’t sure where to put them.  I had thought I might put some blueberries in the old apple tree bed.  (It is called the apple tree bed because it used to have two apple trees in it.  Unfortunately, the Halloween snowstorm of a few years ago toppled the poor apple trees.  It then became a veggie bed, but some how retained its original name.)  But even with the new raised beds, I think I will still need it for a veggie bed.  So where?

And raspberries need to be off by themselves so they don’t take over.   They are not good about sharing.  So that would be the challenge there.   They would need a special spot.

Strawberries are easier.  I have seen them planted in upright pallets, hanging baskets,  and in towers made out of wire.  I saw the towers in Oregon and really liked them. But for now they can just go on the edge of some garden.  Probably the apple tree bed.

Tomorrow is May 1st.  I need to figure this out if I intend to plant this season!  So today I walked around Brookwood Shire and finally decided where I could put my berry bushes.  Just in time.  I am meeting a friend at Nourse Farms tomorrow to get some plants.  She recommended them.  She is going to pick up her order tomorrow.  She wisely prepared her beds last Fall and ordered early. But I always seem to do things last minute.  I haven’t ordered yet..or even decided  what kinds I want.  But I will meet her and see what they have.  

Meanwhile, I had to get the beds ready today.  This is where Permaculture is so wonderful!  NO digging!  I put down some cardboard, wet it, added old leaves, then some not quite ready compost, then some poopy straw from my girls and topped it all off with some Moo Doo and some Moo Dirt.  The blueberry bed also got some peat moss and some pine needles because they like acid soil.  A bit of straw around the edges tidied it all up.  So easy!

IMG_2930

Here is the blueberry bed.  

IMG_2934

And here is the raspberry bed.  It will need some kind of trellis eventually. But it should be ok for now.

OK.  Decision time.  There are so many varieties!  There are early bearing, late bearing, ever bearing!  It is a bit overwhelming.  I will have to do some research before tomorrow.  They all look so good!

20130430-215628.jpgIMG_0517

 

IMG_0520

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Gardens, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raspberries, Blueberries and Strawberries

  1. hobacaitbe says:

    My piece of New England had wild high bush blueberry bushes growing on it. When I found one that had good sized berries I would transplant it over to my blueberry patch. I also have two cultivated plants that my son gave me in the patch. I have about a dozen plants that I cover with plastic mesh after the berries form to keep out the birds. The wild bushes don’t produce as vigorously as the cultivated ones and the berries are smaller but the flavor in way superior. The best blueberry pie is made from blueberries that you picked just minutes from making the pie.
    After 3 years of failure I’m still searching for the strawberry plant that will work for me. I just got 4 new specimens.
    Ed

  2. Decision time? What decision? Plant them all!!!!

    I’m getting hungry just looking at this post. Berries are the BEST.

  3. Berries ARE the best! Whatever ones you end up with will be the right ones!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

