The New Raised Beds

We have been working on the new raised beds. It is a bit of an experiment really. My compost is not really ready yet and to buy enough soil for the four beds would be a bit pricey. So we are going to use what we have and hope that nature will help us out a bit.

20130418-194647.jpg
We measured an area around the boxes to leave room for paths. This would be the garden.
Then we removed the beds and put cardboard down over the grass.

20130418-194908.jpg
It looks a bit messy but I am trusting to all the permaculture videos I have seen. This should work and is MUCH easier that digging up all this grass!

20130418-195134.jpg
We put the bed frames back and leveled them. This was a bit tricky as our land slopes quite a bit. We used stakes to level the frames. There were gaps on the bottom between the board and the sloping ground in some places. I was concerned that soil and water would run off so we put a few pieces of board we had left over from a different project inside the beds. This way we could close the gap and keep water and soil inside the beds.

20130418-195717.jpg
We then added some old logs we had. They are starting to rot and are pretty crumbly. I saw this online. It is a permaculture technique. The logs are supposed to retain water. I hope so. They take up space as well which means we don’t need as much soil. I am not sure about this. It seems lumpy. But if it doesn’t work I can pull them out.

20130418-200305.jpg
Next I added some compost. You can see it is not really soil yet. Lots of poopy straw, last years garden waste, grass clippings….I am hoping it will break down over the summer and add lots of nutrients to the soil. It seems a bit course but I think it will be ok.
On top of this I added a mixture of top soil, peat moss and aged manure. This layer is where the young plants will start.
I then added straw to the paths.

20130418-201017.jpg
I put up a bamboo teepee…for morning glories or Scarlett runner beans…not sure yet..I just thought a vertical would be nice.
So there are our new raised beds. I am happy with the way they came out. I hope my vegetable plants will be happy as well!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The New Raised Beds

  1. We’ve used cardboard on top of grass where veggie beds now stand – it works a treat.

    It all looks fantastic and your cocktail of compost, wood and soil is bound to be nutritious to your veggies. Good luck with it all!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

