The Giant Egg

A couple of days ago I went out to the chicken coop to gather eggs and found a giant egg. It was twice the usual size. From the color and shape I think it is Prudence’s egg, though I did not see her lay it. It was very impressive.

20130416-175656.jpg
Here it is next to a “regular” egg.
Prudence is my “foodie” hen. She is always first to try new foods and she makes sure she gets her share,and maybe a little bit more, of all treats.

20130416-175957.jpg
She has been known to peck anyone, especially poor Beatrix, who gets in her way.
I do not know if that is why she laid such a big egg. But she is a very healthy girl.

20130416-180157.jpg
So today, I choose Prudence’s giant egg for my breakfast.

20130416-180546.jpg
Curious, I decided to crack it into a bowl before cooking it….

20130416-180732.jpg
As I suspected, it was a double yolk egg. Twins!

20130416-180819.jpg
Isn’t it beautiful?

20130416-181042.jpg
It was so big it overflowed the bagel! But it was delicious! Yum!

20130416-181150.jpg
Thanks Prudence!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Hens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Giant Egg

  1. I haven’t had a double yolk in ages. I’ve read it’s something a lot of chickens do when they’re young and then the get old and boring 😦 Oh well, I’m not complaining, it was fun while it lasted. Enjoy the fruits and fun of Prudence’s labour!

  2. Just beautiful, and a double yoker as we thought!!

  3. wspines says:

    Oh how wonderful, She will probably do that occasionally for the rest of her laying days. I do enjoy getting them.

  4. Pingback: The Egg with No Shell | Life at Brookwood Shire

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

