Spring Continues

Despite the cold and sleet that descended on us on Friday, Spring continues. I have been raking out and tidying some of the flower beds. There are lots of hopeful signs there. New growth is everywhere!

20130414-101050.jpg
This Lupine is looking very healthy and happy.

20130414-101216.jpg
The Columbine is coming up.

20130414-101718.jpg
The Pulmonaria’s gentle blooms are bright in front of the dark green of the hemlocks.

20130414-102020.jpg
Here are a few more.

I checked on our forsythia. We had to cut it back last year because it was damaged by the Halloween snowstorm we had gotten the year before.

20130414-102259.jpg
It is coming back nicely.

20130414-102400.jpg
The daffodils are a bit droopy after the sleet, but a little sun will lift their faces.

I have been potting on my seeds. I have too many for the Gro light now. The front steps will do on sunny days.

20130414-102702.jpg
I am hoping to get them into cold frames soon.

20130414-102935.jpg
These beds are mostly ready now.

20130414-103137.jpg
Our next project. Bill made the raised beds. We need to put cardboard and newspaper down and decide how to fill them. There are lots of ideas on line. I will see what we have.

It is such a wonderful time of year. So much promise and hope. So good to be outside again. As always, I marvel that life returns after the subzero temps and dead of winter. The gentleness of Spring is so welcome!

Hope you are all enjoying it!

20130414-103932.jpg

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature, Spring. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Continues

  1. Looking good! See you tomorrow!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

