Spring Has Sprung!

Today was an absolutely perfect day. The blustery winds of the past few days have died down and the sun is shining. Its gentle warmth is more than welcome. Green shoots are coming up everywhere! Life abounds!

Sadly the crocuses are a bit bedraggled.

20130408-151737.jpg
The wind has been battering their delicate petals.

20130408-151945.jpg
But they will soon be replaced by the daffodils. It is a glorious time of year!

We have been working on our raised beds. The construction was straight forward enough. But it was a bit tricky fitting them to the current mounded garden.

20130408-170308.jpg
There is a gentle slope here so leveling them took some time. They still need a bit of tweaking but we are on the way. I haven’t planted anything in them yet. The ground was a bit cold so I started my peas in peat pots.

20130408-170712.jpg
They are just barely coming up. When they are a bit bigger I will put them in the garden.

20130408-170912.jpg
I have quite a few seeds started and they are very happy to spend the day on the south facing front steps. I still have more I want to start.

20130408-171124.jpg
On cooler days the seedlings can be outside in this little cold frame. This frees up my GroLight for new seeds. We intend to build some new raised beds to fit these cold frames so we can plant some things a bit earlier.

Meanwhile…

20130408-172142.jpg
……color is returning to the woodland gardens.

20130408-172542.jpg
The primroses are lovely.

20130408-172650.jpg
And this pulmonaria has just begun to flower.

20130408-172938.jpg
The heather continues to bloom, attracting newly awakened bees.

20130408-173040.jpg
Here is one checking out a tired crocus. There were many more on the heather, but I couldn’t get a picture. Good to see the bees are back!

Spring HAS definitely sprung at Brookwood Shire…..at long last!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spring Has Sprung!

  1. So much new growth – you’re on your way!

    • pattigail says:

      It finally feels that way. It was a long winter. Though I suspect that your winter is as warm as our Spring. I think we plant peas at the same time. Funny, isn’t it?

      • I am sure on many days our winter is warmer than your spring. It’s mid-Autumn now and the days reach the high 70s. This time of year I really love – summer is too hot.

        I still find it strange to be planting peas as winter crops. MIne can be sown April to July so I really should be out there plunking some in the soil instead of typing this 🙂

  2. The Shire looks lovely! I cannot believe you have so many blooming plants!! We still have patches of snow in Conway.. Melting fast though with a day like today.

    • pattigail says:

      Oh I am so glad to be rid of the snow, but then I think you got a bit more than we did. And we are south facing which also helps. So we are lucky. It is very nice to see flowers again!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

