Garden Plans

April has arrived at last!  Today started out warm and mild.  Last night’s gentle rain has already begun  greening the grass.  Green shoots are popping up everywhere.  Definitely time to think about this season’s gardens.  As always I have more ideas than space.

But since I have seeds turning into plants under the Grolightthe veggie garden was foremost in my mind.  

IMG_2734

 

I have been building up the soil in the “beds” so they are raised above the paths.  But they are not officially raised beds.  Without sides, some of the soil has washed away over the winter.  So I think we should  build walls around the beds…making more traditional raised beds.  

 I did some measuring, checked some online videos on how to build raised beds, and made a plan.  The wood will be delivered tomorrow.  Bill has agreed to help with the construction.  It certainly looks simple enough. 

IMG_2736In addition, I have some unused space here where we will add a couple of new raised beds.  That should give me enough space for now.

IMG_2740

I am also hoping to plant some blueberry bushes and some strawberry plants in this bed in front of the coop. 

It is so wonderful to be able to be out in the gardens again!

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Merlin. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Garden Plans

  1. Vacation is coming in a little over 2 weeks.. I will stop over to do some helping, and learning.. 🙂

  2. I love to hear about garden planning and spring! It gives me hope that maybe it will come to my neck of the woods someday. We are still so far from planting outside, but I do get to start some seeds inside this weekend! Finally!

    • pattigail says:

      We are not ready to plant outside…well, except maybe peas….but at least the snow is gone so we can start getting the gardens ready. Hope Spring comes to you soon! It has been a long winter.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

