Home Again

I arrived home a few days ago. The snow is mostly gone, and though it is not as green as Oregon and the flowers are just beginning, it is always good to be home. Fergus was very happy to see me. Even Merlin came to say hello. And this was waiting in the kitchen.

20130328-204136.jpg
How lovely to come home to daffodils! Maybe not like they have in Oregon, but wonderful all the same. Thanks to my wonderful husband…who also took good care of my spoiled girls while I was away.

And the house was filled with the smell of hyacinth.

20130328-204539.jpg
These had just started when I left…now they are glorious! Spring HAS come to Brookwood Shire!

The seeds I started last month are now healthy plants. I potted them in bigger pots and put them back under the Gro light.

20130328-204956.jpg
it is still a few weeks before they can go outside. Quite a few weeks before the last frost date, but I am hoping to get them into some cold frames before that.
And now that I am home, I planted more seeds. Tomatoes, basil, lettuce, cucumbers and broccoli. And some purple sprouting broccoli that came all the way from Bealtaine Cottage in Ireland!

20130328-205344.jpg
That is all I have room for at the moment. I will have to keep working on that because I have more I want to start.

Outside, now that the snow has melted, the heather is again trying to bloom.

20130328-205912.jpg
Let’s hope that it is not interrupted by any more snow!

The primroses are also trying again. They are such hardy little things.

20130328-210152.jpg
I will plant the ones from inside the house outside in a few weeks. You can never have too many primroses!

There are quite a few things starting. Lots of green tips venturing forth. But the most noticeable are the crocuses.

20130328-210756.jpg
They are springing up everywhere! In clumps…

20130328-210903.jpg
Or as individuals.
Definitely a hopeful sign.

20130328-211303.jpg
Yes, I am sure. So I will say again, Spring HAS come to Brookwood Shire. And it is very welcome!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature, Spring, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Home Again

  1. Glad you made it home safe. It was great seeing you! Malik is very happy to have his new dragon friend as well.

  2. Oh, I’m really jealous now. I love hyacinth but there’s no way they’d grow in this climate. It’s hard to believe that some plants really like winter, but the crazy things do!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

