Round Up update, Oregon, Winter Storms, Spring?

I just thought I would give you a quick up date on my last post. I met with the supervisor and we quickly established that he would not use any herbicide (Round Up) on my property. He also agreed that my birches were fine as long as I kept them well below the wires.

20130318-090323.jpg
Brookwood Shire will be protected. The conversation broke down when I insisted he NOT use Round Up anywhere near my property as it would contaminate the water and the soil and affect me. He insisted it was perfectly safe! Well for every study he can provide that says that, I can provide I one that says it is not. So he gave me the name of the arborist who works for National Grid. I need to contact him. And I intend to. In the meantime I have contacted a few neighbors who are also concerned about the use of herbicides. I will try to suggest a meeting with everyone there. But, I am leaving for Oregon tomorrow to visit my sister, so this will have to wait until I get back.
Of course, we are now expecting a winter storm tomorrow so things could get interesting in terms of flying anywhere. I don’t think anyone, except possibly a few skiers, is interested in any more snow this year.

20130318-091757.jpg
Our snow is mostly gone. The chipmunks are back.

20130318-094828.jpg
The crocuses are up. With a little sun, they will open.

20130318-094938.jpg
The heather is blooming!

20130318-095050.jpg
And my seeds have sprouted. We are ready for spring!

But it looks like nature has other plans. I am reminded of another poem we learned in kindergarten:
Whether the weather be cold
Or whether the weather be hot.
Whatever the weather
We’ll weather the weather
Whether we like it..or NOT!
I don’t remember who wrote it but I suspect they were from New England!

Never mind. The equinox approaches. The light is returning..has returned with Daylight Savings Time. Winter will eventually lose its grip on New England and we will bask in the warmth and green of Springtime…all the more appreciative for the delay.

20130318-100002.jpg

In the meantime I will make my way to Oregon to visit my sister….though I expect some adventures along the way!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Nature, Spring, Sustainability, travel, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Round Up update, Oregon, Winter Storms, Spring?

  1. wspines says:

    Patti,
    Good news about the round-up so far. I love Fergus in his St. Patrick look! Hope you can get out tomorrow. Have a safe trip and wonderful time

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks. It will be a tough sell since Round Up is legal etc, but I at least will try to make it difficult for them. Fergus thanks you for the compliment…named after the great Fergus MacRoy from Ireland, he proudly wears a bit of green on St. Patrick’s Day.
      I think you are getting more snow than we are…but I fear we will get enough to cause a few adventures for me. Hang in. Spring IS coming!

  2. I too don’t want anymore snow, but I do want tons of rain. That would mean it is warm and spring is here, but we would get precipitation. We are in a horrible draught here and if we don’t get more precipitation soon our fire season is going to be horrible. Thinking about trying to evacuate a whole farm is a nightmare. Last year there were two close calls and I dread the thought of what might happen this year.
    Have a great trip!

    • pattigail says:

      Oh dear, I can’t imagine trying to evacuate an entire farm! I know Oregon is scheduled to get lots of rain next week, I hope some makes it to you. Is this still the drought from last year? I fear the climate is getting a bit interesting already and I see no signs that the powers that be are yet taking climate change seriously. Stay safe! Patti

      • Yes, this is the same drought from last year, it has actually been a few years now and is getting worse and worse each year. Last year we had friends who had a wildfire go right through their property (the house was damaged but not burnt totally down though many of their neighbor’s lost their entire houses) and many of our friends were evacuated but didn’t have it hit their property. One of our friends with a farm evacuated their goats and two large dogs to our farm, but they were evacuated so quickly they had to leave all their chickens (how do you quickly load up 40 chickens, and to where?) and cats (the cats were hiding from the smoke). It was so quick, in fact, that they just loaded their goats into the back of their SUV, they had no other quick option.
        We are doing all we can to mitigate the property in preparation for fire season, and make evac plans for the farm and animals, but there is really only so much you can do.

  3. It really amazes me that people think poison a) doesn’t have any side effects and b) doesn’t move around after they spray it. It’s great you’re taking the time and organising to educate these nincompoops – I hope you enlighten the power company and get your neighbours fired up with you. I have a feeling you’re going to make a huge difference.

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks for the vote of confidence. I hope I can convince these “nincompoops” but if not I hope I can at least get people thinking about it all. Poison is poison. It kills things. How hard is that to understand? Wish me luck! Patti

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

