Towels

I finished hemming the towels last night so I thought I would post a few pictures before I start working on my seeds.

20130227-092327.jpg
I ended up using a lighter blue and a natural for the weft because the dark blue and white were a bit cold.

20130227-092539.jpg
I found places for all three right away…I think this looks very bright and cheery against the white fridge.

20130227-092739.jpg
It is always convenient to have a towel handy near food prep areas.

20130227-092834.jpg
And the last one hangs on the stove.

They are a nice addition to the kitchen. Cheery and functional. Hmmm…what will I make next?

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fiber Arts, Merlin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Towels

  1. Those are beautiful! Well done. Thank you for sharing the photos of the finished towels.

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks,they are fun to make. I like that you can pick whatever colors and pattern you want. And they make great gifts. Do you weave?

      • No, weaving is something I have not tried. But looking at those beautiful towels makes me want to! I don’t know anyone who weaves and thus have no idea how to get started in it. Plus, without Knowing anyone I can’t try it out on someone else’s equipment first and see if I even like it before buying myself a loom. I’ve taught myself to do some heritage arts from books, but weaving seems like it would be way harder to learn from a book. Maybe I should start asking around the knitting and spinning community in my area and see if anyone weaves.

      • pattigail says:

        I took a class. It is pretty complicated to try on your own, but it is fun. I was also lucky that a friend gave me her old loom when she got a new one. But if you ask around you might find someone. Good luck. Patti

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

