Planting Seeds

We awoke to snow/sleet/freezing rain this morning. My first reaction was “Yuck!” It wasn’t that cold so it all quickly became a sloppy slushy mess. Winter is not finished with New England I am afraid.

Never mind, I have seeds to plant. If nature won’t cooperate I will do it indoors! It didn’t take long to put the light stand together. The next question was where to put it. Luckily it fits perfectly on two little tv tables I can set up in the room with the woodstove.

20130227-155450.jpg
The heat mat can go under it and there even is an outlet right there. Two flats will fit, but right now I only need one.
I checked all the seed packets. It is still a bit early for most things, but eggplant and peppers take a long time. So I would start with them.

I gathered everything I would need.

20130227-155818.jpg
You can see I will have a helper as well.
I opened up the bag of seed starter. It was wonderfully soft and light.

20130227-160321.jpg
I filled the pots to the brim…

20130227-160429.jpg
…and gently misted them.
First I planted the eggplant. I used the end of a pencil to make a tiny indentation and placed a seed in it, pressing gently. I covered it with a tiny bit of starter and misted again.

20130227-160746.jpg
I used tongue depressors for plant labels. They ended up being too tall so I had to cut them.

20130227-161154.jpg
Next came the peppers. Same procedure. The seeds were small but I managed.

This was going very smoothly so I decided to plant some alyssum as well. The seeds were TINY!

20130227-161503.jpg
I emptied a few onto an index card. Luckily I had seen a women plant tiny seeds in a You Tube video. She got a toothpick, wet it and gently pressed it to the seeds. The seed stuck and she was able to easily pick up and place the seeds. So I tried it as well and it worked great!

20130227-161752.jpg
Once they were planted I poured some water into the flat and placed the 6 packs of planted seeds in that.

20130227-162306.jpg
Put on the plastic dome and place on the heat mat. So far so good.
According to the packet, it takes 10-20 days for the peppers and eggplant to emerge. The alyssum is a bit quicker. So all I have to do is check them, mist as needed and wait. How exciting!

20130227-162559.jpg
Once seedlings emerge I will turn on the GroLight. And we will be on our way!

Happy Spring everyone!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Merlin, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Planting Seeds

  1. I’m planning to sow a few seeds today. The heat is hopefully past and I can get some new veggies going in autumn and through winter. I sure don’t envy you the cold winters and that sloppy melt – ugh.

    • pattigail says:

      No…the sloppy mess gets a bit old…but it will be gone soon. The idea of growing things all winter is so strange to me…in a polytunnel you could maybe grow spinach or kale….even that could be challenging. I think it must be wonderful to have food from the garden all year! Patti

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

