Starting Seeds Indoors

I have only been gardening for a few years. I started with flowers. Annuals first and then perennials. I was hooked! Soon I started adding vegetables. Some could be planted directly into the ground but some seed packets recommended starting them indoors first. But when I tried starting seeds indoors I made a few discoveries.

First, Merlin will eat most young plants. That was a problem. Second, you need a lot of light to start seeds. Windowsills don’t really provide enough, not to mention the young plants lean toward the sun, get leggy and fall over. Third, we keep our house colder than many young plants like. As you can imagine, it was not as successful a venture as I had hoped.

So for the next few years I just bought young plants at the Farmer’s Market. I was supporting local farmers and able to get organic plants. And the plants were very healthy and happy. And safe from Merlin! The only problem was, by late February, I am itchy to start gardening. There is still snow on the ground so gardening needs to be done inside. And after 20 years in kindergarten planting pansy seeds in paper cups to be taken home as Mother’s Day gifts, I missed the thrill of the tiny green shoots magically appearing in the cups. Time to try starting seeds again.

After a bit of research online I was more determined. It certainly seemed simple enough. It was just a matter of getting the right equipment. So I went over to my local garden center today to see what I could find.

20130226-185631.jpg
A heat mat placed under the flats will keep the soil warm enough for the seeds to germinate. That would solve one problem.

20130226-185926.jpg
Once germinated, a grow light will provide light and warmth. Another problem solved!

20130226-190120.jpg
That leaves just one problem…..well we have a bit of time to work on that one.

20130226-191509.jpg
I think I am ready! Tomorrow I will put it all together…

20130226-191803.jpg
…..plant some seeds….and see what happens.

I will keep you posted.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Merlin, Spring and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Starting Seeds Indoors

  1. Looks like a good project for another unsettled (weather wise) day.. Still snowing in Conway.. but no school delay for us in Hamp district! Sigh..

  2. I also have had trouble starting plants indoors, for other reasons. The main reason at the old house was total lack of south facing windows. Now that we are in the new house, which has huge windows that are south facing, I am going to give it another try this spring. We will see how it goes.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

