Sunny

Last Thursday I found out that my Aunt had passed away. At home, in her sleep…on Valentine’s Day. I like to think that my Uncle, who passed in 2007, called her home. She was 88 years old. She had gotten very frail, and her memory was failing her. She has been a bit lost and confused without my Uncle. But there were two things that always gave her joy. Ice Cream…

20130217-161143.jpg
…..and her cat, Sunny.

The last time I saw her she was having difficulty recognizing people and places. I was not sure she knew who I was. She could not find or remember what she wanted to show me. But she knew Sunny. “This is my cat,” she told me, gently stroking his fur. He sat beside her, protectively…staring at me…not sure I was to be trusted. She was calmer with him there. Though she did worry about what would happen to him when she was gone.

And now she is gone.

20130217-162434.jpg
I have been feeding him for the last few days. He is alone in the house. He greets me at the door, informing me that no one is there and he is hungry…and lonely I think.

20130217-163018.jpg
He happily eats his food.

20130217-163201.jpg
And then has a bit of a wash. Standards must be kept up you know.

20130217-163309.jpg
I brought him a catnip toy and he enjoyed playing with it. As all cats, he can be aloof. But he didn’t like it when I put my coat on. And he purred when I picked him up to say good bye.

He has lived his entire life with my Aunt and Uncle. He has always been an only cat. He is getting on now…mature…11 or 12 years old. Possibly older, no one is really sure. He was there for both my Aunt and my Uncle’s passing. They both died at home. And now he is alone. I am so often struck by the gifts we receive from the animals around us. Their loyalty and warmth provides us with such comfort. They listen to all our stories…never passing judgement. They are just there. What would we do without them….and how often do they go unnoticed? I am so grateful that Sunny was able to be there for my Aunt. That there was someone she knew and remembered when so much was forgotten…lost to her. We hope to find a home for Sunny soon. A quiet home where he can be an only cat…cherished and loved. A place where he too can find comfort in his last days….

….and we will. It is the least that we can do.

20130217-165451.jpg

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in cats, Nature, Pets, Seasons, Valentines and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sunny

  1. wspines says:

    Patti,
    I am so sorry about your loss. No matter what it is hard to say good bye to our loved ones.
    Poor kitty, I hope you find someone soon. Keep me posted about a home.
    It is so cold today and I had lots of work to do outside and I want to clean two coops tonight after they have perched..
    If there is anything I can do please let me know.
    Carole

  2. How wonderful that your aunt could have such a loyal cat to be with her through this time. I am sorry for your loss and hope you find the perfect home for Sunny soon.

  3. pattigail says:

    It was wonderful. May we all be so lucky. Thank you for the kind thoughts. I hope we find a good home as well. He deserves it. Patti

  4. Geraldine says:

    I’m sorry for your loss and sad for Sunny too. I hope Sunny gets a perfect new home.

  5. I’m sure he is a wonderful boy.. I have shared your first post about Sunny, and pray he gets his new forever home very soon.. Hugs

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

