St. Brigid’s Cross, Warming Days, Knitting

Time passes. We are almost halfway to the equinox. The days are brightening. In Ireland the first day of February is considered the beginning of spring. St.Bridid’s Day or Imbolc. I have read that that is the day Brigid is released from the winter god. You leave a candle burning to light her on her way. I have also read that you should sweep the hearth with a birch branch and kindle a new fire to welcome her, and you should leave a bit of butter on the windowsill. It is a time to make a St. Brigid’s Cross. These are made from rushes, pulled not cut, and hung near the door or in the rafters to protect the house. I have no rushes so I sent for one from Bealtaine Cottage. It arrived a few days ago.

20130129-161624.jpg
I will find a place to hang it soon.
You can get one at the Bealtaine Cottage Shop. http://www.etsy.com/shop/BealtaineCottage
Here is more about St. Brigid’s Crosses from Bealtaine Cottage:
http://permaculturecottage.wordpress.com/2013/01/08/saint-brigids-day-imbolc-and-the-1st-of-spring/.
Hopefully it will bring a bit of spring warmth to New England.

It has been a bit warmer with temps in the 50s predicted for tomorrow!

20130129-163205.jpg
The girls are happily back up in Cluckingham Palace.

A friend sent me this picture….another way to keep the girls warm.

20130129-163348.jpg
I don’t think they would like it, but it is a fun idea!

Speaking of knitting projects, I have FINALLY finished all the pieces of the sweater I started last year.!

20130129-163748.jpg
Now I need to sew it together and add the button band and the buttons. Almost there….and then I can think about a new project…chicken shawls? Maybe not. There will be time. Winter will continue in New England for awhile.

But whatever the weather, February will bring longer days and a brighter sun…..and that will have to be enough for now.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fiber Arts, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to St. Brigid’s Cross, Warming Days, Knitting

  1. wspines says:

    The sweater is wonderful. I made one of my hens a sweater when she moulted in the winter last year. She hated it!!!!!!! It still hangs in the coop.

    • pattigail says:

      I love the picture, but I don’t think the girls would like the sweaters. For one thing they tie around the neck and if they didn’t just get tangled up in them, they might choke themselves. And Maeve would never want to cover up her beautiful feathers! Now a moulting hen,without feathers..that would be a different story. But she didn’t like it? It was still kind of you to make it for her.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

