Shelter from the Cold

Ok, I will be the first to admit that my girls are possibly the most spoiled hens on the planet. I shudder when I think of the plight of some poor chickens. They are the most delightful creatures …..they give me eggs and poop for the gardens and many laughs. So why not treat them well?
“Cluckingham Palace” as their coop has been called, is a perfectly nice place most of the time. But a cold front is moving in….lows in the single digits or even below zero (that is Fahrenheit remember)with highs near 20 during the day. That is COLD! Especially day after day. I certainly wouldn’t want to be in an unheated building in that. But Fergus’ old crate is too small for them to do more than sleep….luckily, my wonderful husband came to the rescue. Today, before the cold arrived, he set about making a space for them under the cellar stairs.

20130120-192310.jpg
He used some old screening that we had to enclose the space. And he used the door of the crate as the door. Very clever.

20130120-192504.jpgI added shavings…

20130120-192542.jpg
…some boxes for sleeping…

20130120-192632.jpg
…and a couple of nesting boxes for laying.

20130120-192929.jpg
There is plenty of room for food and water.

20130120-193018.jpg
And even room for a special treat…

20130120-193110.jpg
The girls explored happily….

20130120-193505.jpg
…checking everything out. They seemed to like it!

We will add a roost eventually…but for now it will be a cozy place…a shelter from the cold.

20130120-193805.jpg
“Thanks, Mom!”

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Hens, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shelter from the Cold

  1. wspines says:

    Patti,
    What a wonderful place for them, now you won’t worry. This cold is going to last a while.. They will be happy and so will you. You are going to be like me, now you can feed them in your PJ’s!!!!!!! I am leaving the barn door open tonight for the sheep but tomorrow night it will be shut tight.
    Carole

  2. hobacaitbe says:

    I got my chicks in April, this is mine and their first winter, You are making me feel a little guilty. I’m going to let them go through this cold spell in their coop. My wife would love to have them move into the big house, me, not so much. I will NOT be showing your blog to my wife. I did put a larger watt bulb in my cement bloc that is under the waterer. I will see tonight if it adds any heat to the coop, it has kept the water from freezing so far. I also blocked off the vents on the north of the coop, now the only vents are the small ones at the roof line on the south side. I may go to the hardware store tomorrow and see about an even larger watt bulb.
    I thought I pampered my chickens, but you win.
    Ed

    • pattigail says:

      This is my first winter as well. The girls arrived in May as day old chicks. And I was smitten. So I freely admit that I spoil my girls …and they would probably be alright in the coop….but I feel much better knowing they are comfortable. Let me know how your girls do….and good luck!

      • hobacaitbe says:

        I also brought home one-day old chicks April 4th. Maybe it is a gender thing, the chickens were my idea and my responsibility, but, “she who most be obeyed” became instantly smitten and loves being their Mommy. I did show her your post and the coop was 8 degrees warmer than the run this morning, so she is much relieved and will be even more so when I get a larger bulb today. .
        Ed

      • pattigail says:

        I think you may be right about the gender thing….there is something about hens that is irresistible to women..or so it seems. Glad your girls are doing well.

  3. Especially love the last photo, but the caption needs to read, Thanks Mom, AND Dad!!! It’s great, and they will love it!

  4. Pingback: Back to Gardening ! | Life at Brookwood Shire

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

