Surprises in the Coop

Despite promises of a warm day from the weather people, today was a gray, cold, bleak January day. The sun never quite came out, the temperature barely rose above freezing….nothing very cheery about it. This is the hardest part of winter for me. The holiday festivities are over and spring is a LONG way away. The world is a frozen wasteland.

Except for primroses. This is when primroses magically appear in the supermarkets and florists. They are so cheery and bright….I could never get through January without them.

20130109-184151.jpg
This basket had herbs in the fall, greens for Christmas….and now primroses! Hopefully Merlin won’t eat them. He is very partial to flowers….tulips, pansies….he just loves them!

20130109-184430.jpg
So lovely!

20130109-184534.jpg
They just make me smile.

So I has in a much better mood when I went up to the coop to check on the girls. To my surprise and delight this is what I found.

20130109-184915.jpg
A beautiful BLUE egg!

20130109-185137.jpg
What a clever girl! I thought she was going to wait until spring…I thought the dark and cold were just putting her off. But as usual, I was wrong…..Today Beatrix was ready. And so today, she laid her first egg.

I wonder what will happen tomorrow……

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Darkness and Light, Hens, Nature, Spring, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Surprises in the Coop

  1. Ahh, it’s so pretty! Wonderful girls..

  2. wspines says:

    Well done Beatrix

  3. hobacaitbe says:

    Your pictures are very clear. I noticed Stop & Shop bags in one of your posts, and you are writing about your New England weather, we must be neighbors, these past few days are why we love New England.
    Ed

  4. hobacaitbe says:

    Thank you. That should say “west” of Boston.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

