Winterizing the Coop

It has been very cold the last few nights. Temperatures have been below zero…and that is fahrenheit! Even with our little wood stove going the furnace is on. It is just COLD! We can sit by our stove, drink hot drinks and put on a heavy sweater. But what about my girls? The coop is insulated and I have tried to block all drafts, but there is no heat out there. Even cold hearty hens get cold.

Yesterday the temperature in the coop went down to 10F and the water kept freezing. And when the sun went down, I knew the temperature would be even lower. I certainly wouldn’t want to sleep out there. So I gave in and brought them inside for the night. I set up Fergus’ old dog crate in the cellar for them. They didn’t like it because they don’t like anything new, but at least it was warmer. And I slept better knowing they were not having to cope with such low temperatures.

Today I wanted to see if I could do anything to make the coop warmer.

IMG_1126

I have curtains that can be closed to keep out some drafts.

And this does help a lot.

Old pillow shams cover the back windows.

IMG_1132

So the coop is not drafty. But if it is zero degrees, it is cold.

I decided to check with Storey’s Guide to Raising Chickens to see if she had any advise.

She suggested installing a heat lamp if temperatures are below 35 degrees and if the ceiling is more than 2 ft above the roost. Well, my coop has no electricity, but even if it did I do not think that a heat lamp is a good idea with all that straw.

But I could use a blanket to lower the ceiling above them. It would be like a bed canopy, keeping their body heat close.

IMG_1877

The nesting box they sleep in is pretty close to the ceiling anyway.

20130104-191526.jpg

Here they are with their new canopy.

It is cozy…almost like a tent.20130104-191817.jpg I think they like it!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Heating, Hens, Winter and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Winterizing the Coop

  1. You are such a caring mom to your girls.. It looks nice for them.. cozy. They are all fluffed and so pretty..

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

