A Bitter Cold Morning

It was a bitterly cold at Brookwood Shire this morning.   I awoke to a frozen world.  My first thought was my girls.  Just how cold did it get in the coop last night?   The low was 9.  That is 9 degrees F.  I don’t  know what that is in Celsius, but COLD!  I went up to check on them right away.  Much to Merlin’s shock and dismay I didn’t feed him or start the fire.  I went up to the coop.  I could hear the girls clucking quietly as I approached.IMG_1879
It was almost 20 degrees in the coop. Not too bad.IMG_1877

The girls greeted me happily, ready for their breakfast. There was even an egg waiting for me…though not a blue egg. So all was well on that front.

I went back inside, started the fire, fed the poor STARVING Merlin and gave Fergus his breakfast.  After a brief walk with Fergus we all settled down.
IMG_1896
Fergus chose his usual place on the couch.
IMG_1907

Merlin decided to watch the birds at the feeders.

Except, there were no birds at the feeders.  There were SQUIRRELS!

IMG_1887
And they were having quite a feast! It doesn’t matter how thin a branch I hang the feeders on, the squirrels always find a way to get there.
IMG_1893
Some hang from the feeders, eating their fill.
IMG_1894
Others help themselves to whatever spills onto the snow.

IMG_1875

This little squirrel somehow managed to get the entire feeder onto the ground. The squirrels at Brookwood Shire do very well!

IMG_1906
This woodpecker did stop by for a bit of suet.

IMG_1914And this cardinal is not intimidated by the greedy squirrels.  His red color is stunning against the snow.

So despite the cold and the snow, life goes on at Brookwood Shire.    Happy New Year!

 

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well, Heating, Ireland, Pets, Sustainability and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bitter Cold Morning

  1. All look healthy and ready for winter, even those pesky squirrels!!

    • pattigail says:

      I have the fattest squirrels in town…the girls, also a bit spoiled, are taking winter in their stride…though they did spend the last two nights in my cellar. They probably would have been fine, but below zero was too much for me. Hopefully it will warm up…even 20 sounds warm now!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

