Snow

Last night it began to snow.  The weather people said it would start as snow and change to sleet/rain overnight.  So I was surprised to wake to a snow covered world.  Our first real snow of the season.IMG_1858
The trees were heavy with snow, their branches sweeping the ground. Beneath them, a cozy den.  

The chicken coop seemed more distant down the narrowed path.

IMG_1861The bird feeder tilts and sways under the weight of its snowy bonnet.

IMG_1865
Cushions of snow cover these chairs. Everything looks soft and inviting. I can’t help but recite a poem from my kindergarten days. I don’t remember the author..
“Snow makes whiteness where it falls
The bushes look like popcorn balls.
The places where I always play,
Look like someplace else today.”

I spent a good part of the morning shoveling steps, driveways and pathways.  While it was invigorating to be outside in the cold,  it was nice to finish and go back inside to sit by our cozy stove.IMG_1856

Merlin, I discovered, was already there.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Nature, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow

  1. wspines says:

    Oh Merlin what a perfect picture of you. Don’t worry about the hens they will do fine. You have taken such good care of them. I love the snow on the trees.
    Carole

  2. Gorgeous photos. And yes, the chicken coop does seem such a long way. Ours unfortunately is just outside our bedroom window at the moment as that is where the shelter from the Spring storms is, and that is where the best grass is at the moment.
    But of course I get woken up at daylight each morning (and it is the holidays) with the chickens screeching to be let out.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

