Blue Eggs

Last spring, after much thought, a few discussions with friends and a bit of reading, I decided I wanted to get some hens. Well not hens, I wanted baby chicks. I knew a lot of people who had gotten chickens and were loving it. I had eaten fresh eggs and knew they were far superior to grocery store eggs and I knew the poop was good for the gardens. So why not? I did a bit more reading to find out which hens would be happy in New England and which were good layers etc. Our zoning allows us to have up to six hens, no roosters. I couldn’t decide which breed to get so I thought, why not get one of each? That way they would be easier to tell apart. I ended up with five. Why not six? I am not sure. I chose five different kinds. They arrived a few weeks later and the fun began.

<;;a

20121213-215653.jpg
Here they are on their first day at Brookwood Shire. It was love at first sight.

20121213-215853.jpg
By week two they were already getting feathers and had distinct personalities.

They lived in the bathroom while we set about designing and constructing “Cluckingham Palace”. There were a few adventures along the way, but by mid summer they had a new home.

20121213-220543.jpg
You can see how much they have grown! They settled in nicely and continued to grow.

20121213-220856.jpg
By the end of summer they were full grown and by the end of October, after MUCH anticipation, they began to lay.

20121213-221341.jpg
Brianna, on the left, was first to lay. She is a Rhode Island Red….very reliable, no nonsense sort of girl. She was the top girl from day one, the first to do everything, so I was not surprised she was first to lay. She is the boss. On the right is Beatrix. She is an Americauna, also known as an Easter Egg hen, because she lays blue eggs. She is slow to develop in all things. She roosted weeks after the others…always a bit behind. But a sweeter girl you couldn’t have.

20121213-222038.jpg
This is Prudence. She is a Barred Plymouth Rock. A lovely girl, generally easy going but likes her food! She is the one who will try new foods. She loves her oatmeal and can get a bit pushy at breakfast time. She lays large brown eggs as well.

20121213-222422.jpg
Amber is a Buff Orpington and she is the friendliest. She likes people and doesn’t mind being picked up. She is great with kids. She announces everything she does and is quite funny. She also lays large brown eggs.

20121213-222830.jpg
Maeve is beautiful…and she knows it. She is a Gold Laced Wyandotte. She is not as friendly as the others and doesn’t like to share. She is also vocal, just has a lot to say. She also lays large brown eggs.

We get three to four brown eggs every day. I have seen all four of my brown egg girls in the nesting boxes. So I know they are all laying most days. But I have yet to find a blue egg! The others have been laying now for over a month. I would have expected Beatrix to be last to lay, but a month? Maybe. Americaunas develop slowly. I am trying to be patient. But where are my blue eggs?!

So I am watching and waiting. Perhaps, being an Easter Egg hen, she will wait until spring. But I hope not.

The wait continues….I will keep you posted…

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Gardens, Hens, Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blue Eggs

  1. Thank you for the lovely post. It was great to see the pictures as chicks and then now. I love that they developed personalities so early. My chicks are being raised by their mum so it is harder to get to know the chicks as it is if they were incubator raised.
    Your girls are very pretty and your blue egg will come in time.

    • pattigail says:

      Thank you. It really has been such a great experience having these beautiful girls and an honor to be their “Mum”. I know the blue eggs will come eventually, I am just impatient. Glad you enjoyed the post.

  2. Aww, what a nice remembering of the girls and their growth at Brookwoodshire.. I love how they LOVE you! Cooing when you come to see them, talking softly, and waiting for a special snack.. I look forward to the photo of the first blue egg.. the wait just makes it even more special!

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks Joan, they are special girls. I think at this point that first blue egg will be even more exciting than the first brown egg! And you remember how exciting THAT was!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

