A Festive Brookwood Shire

It was a wet and dreary day today, though not that cold. I have finished my windowboxes and the outside decorations are done. So despite the warm fire in our cozy little stove, I went outside to take some pictures.

<a

20121210-172244.jpg
The front entrance. Woodland animals is my ” Christmas” theme because it is really about midwinter and the solstice for me. We actually had two deer in the woods behind our house this morning, but I wasn’t quick enough to get a picture. It is always exciting to see them.

20121210-172722.jpg
More deer by the spruce. I find them at tag sales here and there so they are all different.

20121210-172927.jpg
These two are in front of the coop in the garden. The girls wonder if I have brought them a treat.

20121210-173133.jpg
You can see they have finished their oatmeal and are busy scratching for something more. I will bring them dried mealy worms later. They LOVE their worms!

20121210-173659.jpg
Another deer. You can see this one from the room the wood stove is in.

20121210-173921.jpg
My little winterberry bushes. I watered them this summer when it was so dry so they have berries. I think they are the only ones in town!

I went inside and discovered that Merlin had come out from his cozy spot behind the stove.

20121210-174349.jpg
He was snuggled in his basket, ready to “help” with lunch. He really is too much.

Here are some pictures I took after dark so you could see the lights.

20121210-175000.jpg

20121210-175026.jpg

20121210-175040.jpg
It was drizzling and the camera’s flash captured the raindrops. An interesting effect I think!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Darkness and Light, Gardens, Seasons, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Festive Brookwood Shire

  1. wspines says:

    Oh that Merlin, he will certainly help you with a meal!!!!!! The house and decorations look lovely, will call you soon.
    Carole

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks. Merlin has two interests in life. Being warm and being fed. He pursues both quite unapologetically I am afraid….and quite successfully. Talk to you soon. Patti

  2. Looks beautiful! The raindrops look like snow..

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

