Bringing the Outside In

Despite predictions for a warm day, it was fairly damp and chilly today. There was misty fog as well. So I decided to stay inside and continue decorating the kitchen. As the center of the house, the place where everyone goes, I want it to be as festive and lovely as the other rooms.

20121204-191032.jpg
I started with this vase of greens. Why not look at and smell something lovely while you wash the dishes?

20121204-192127.jpg
A few greens in the jug and some pine in with the clementines is very cheery.

20121204-192424.jpg
Twigs of winterberry and a few tiny pine cones add just enough to make it festive.

20121204-192644.jpg
Even the top of the fridge gets a fresh look. Why not?

20121204-193146.jpg
My husband Bill built these shelves for me. My version of an Irish dresser….a few greens is all they need.

20121204-193531.jpg
This little cabinet serves as the bottom of my Irish dresser. I have had this candle for over 30 years. It is hollow now so I put tea candles inside. It looks like stained glass when it is lit.

20121204-193956.jpg
You can see that the bread basket is empty at the moment…Merlin was testing it out earlier. He loves sleeping here….close to all food activity.

So with the kitchen looking cheery, I moved on to the room the wood stove is in. We call it the porch because it began as a screened porch….

20121204-194240.jpg
I had herbs in this basket that I had brought in from the garden, but they didn’t get enough light and were not happy. So I decided to make it part of the holiday decorations.

20121204-195410.jpg
The bay tree got a few pine cones and some winterberry as well.

20121204-201958.jpg
A few more touches beside the couch.

20121204-202853.jpg
The mitten tree with mittens and the stove….if you look out the window you can see one of our little reindeer…..more on that tomorrow!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Darkness and Light, Seasons, Winter and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

