Home and Hearth

And so we are home. We arrived home safe and sound, if a bit exhausted, Tuesday night. Our neighbor, Michelle, who took care of our animals while we were in Ireland, was here. She was just writing a welcome home note when we arrived. It was nice to see her and to hear how much she LOVED taking care of the girls, and of course, the boys. Fergus was ecstatic to see us. There is nothing like a welcoming dog to make you feel loved. Merlin, on the other hand, was not sure what we were doing there since Michelle had already fed him. But we are used to that. He is a funny boy. I of course, went up to the coop to check on the girls. I knew that they had gone to bed, but I wanted to see them. They were snuggled in the nesting boxes but cooed quietly when they saw me. So all was well.

We spent most of yesterday doing laundry, buying groceries and cleaning. I did manage to gather a few greens to bring inside for Christmas. I will have to gather more though. Christmas should be festive!

Today, Todd, our chimney sweep came to build the brick hearth for our new wood stove. Very exciting.

20121129-182231.jpg
First he removed the stove. The pipe looks a bit strange there.

20121129-182342.jpg
After laying the bricks out without mortar to make final design decisions, he began to lay the hearth.

20121129-182752.jpg
It went very quickly. Todd does very nice work.

20121129-183012.jpg
And here it is. The bricks should be set by tomorrow morning….and completely dry by Saturday. Todd will return then to put the stove back and reattach pipe. And then we are set to go. I suspect we will be very cozy and warm by Saturday night…..

20121129-183518.jpg
Fergus is more interested in his chewie than in any wood stove. Priorities you know.

So I guess that things are pretty much back to normal at Brookwood Shire.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Heating, Pets, Sustainability and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Home and Hearth

  1. wspines says:

    Hi Patti,
    It looks like everyone is happy to have you home, I love the hearth, can’t wait to see the stove up and going.
    Carole

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks, I can’t wait either. That room needs something to take the chill off it. It is such a nice space overlooking the back gardens but we are outside in the summer and avoid it in the winter because of the cold. So the woodstove should draw us in with its welcoming warmth. I am thinking it will be my spinning room. Once I learn how. Patti

  2. Welcome home.. You were missed.

  3. Joanne Gregoire says:

    I’m glad you had a nice trip and made it home safely.
    Joanne

  4. I hope you had a wonderful time and I am so glad that the chickens cooed at you. When I got back from holiday recently I got home after they had gone to bed and I got cooed at too when they heard my voice. So cute and endearing.

    • pattigail says:

      Thanks. I wasn’t even sure if they would remember me so it was very endearing. The woman who took care of them when we were away was there when I went up to the coop. She said, “wow, I thought they liked me, but they love you”. It made me feel ridiculously happy. I just love my girls.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

