Day Two

After a lovely breakfast at our hotel we set off for Trinity College and the Book of Kells. We walked through St Stephen’s Green.

20121113-171941.jpg
I spotted this bust of James Joyce. I was a big fan of Joyce in High School.

20121113-172132.jpg
We passed this lovely pub along the way.

And here is Molly Malone.

20121113-172641.jpg
Affectionately known as “the tart with the cart.”

20121113-172841.jpg
You are not allowed to take photographs in the book of Kells exhibit so I took this of the sign outside. The Book of Kells is beautiful. The exhibit explains a lot of the symbolism in the work as well as the history. Quite amazing!

20121113-173613.jpg
As we left Trinity College we passed this bookshop. You can see they are also anticipating the release of the movie version of The Hobbit. I thought of my friend Joan who is also a big Tolkien fan.
We spent a good part of the afternoon in the National Museum of Archeology. They had all sorts of bits and pieces from around Ireland. They had two bog men. Bodies discovered from thousands of years ago preserved in a bog. Absolutely incredible. They had golden torcs, bronze swords, ancient urns. I love all of that. Before I saw the sign that said no photographs I took this.

20121113-174641.jpg
An example of an ancient burial cairn. I liked the ” no entry” sign.
We finished up the day at a restored Georgian House, No.29 Fitzwilliam Lower. It was near the street of the famous Doors of Dublin.

20121113-175314.jpg
Now we are back in our room for a wee rest before we head out to Temple Bar for a pint, some food and some music. That should be fun!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day Two

  1. There in spirit.. Sounds like a good day in Dublin..

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

