Winter Preparations, the Wood Stove Arrives

Things have been a bit busy at Brookwook Shire the past few days. First, it has gotten COLD all of a sudden and I wanted to winterize the coop a bit. I hung a quilt…..

20121107-161119.jpg
…on the chicken wire that separates the coop from the potting shed.

20121107-161357.jpg
I added more straw along the walls.

20121107-161457.jpg
And I tucked some towels around the windows to stop the drafts. Prudence approves. That should keep the coop a bit cosier.

Speaking of cosy. The wood stove arrived today.

20121107-162755.jpg
Todd, our chimney sweep, put it together.

20121107-162919.jpg
Up goes the pipe.

20121107-163004.jpg
And here it is.

20121107-163315.jpg
The blue tape shows where the brick hearth will be. But that will have to wait until we get back from Ireland.
I think it will keep the house very warm!

20121107-163610.jpg
Merlin can’t wait. He LOVES warm. Here he is sleeping on the stove while the oven is on. Yes, I think he will like the wood stove!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Heating, Seasons, Sustainability and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Preparations, the Wood Stove Arrives

  1. Ahh, Merlin! Cutie.. The stove is beautiful and a perfect size.. Will look great with the hearth, mitten tree etc.
    Used a perfect little egg tonight. 🙂

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

