The Saga Continues

Good News and Bad News. Nothing is ever as easy as it seems. The wood stove hearth is now the issue. The cheapest way to do it is with a slab of bluestone. So I went over to the stone place to look at the stone. Unfortunately bluestone is pretty boring..looking mostly like cement. Not really what I wanted. The man at the stone place showed me hearth pads made of tile or stone. Better, but a bit pricey.

20121101-202446.jpg

20121101-202549.jpg
I liked this one in stone.
But I kept looking. Another company had one in brick. Much warmer than the stone.

20121101-202721.jpg
I was going to try to order it for next Wednesday when the stove arrives when it dawned on me…why not have my Chimney Sweep build me a hearth? He is not just a chimney sweep. He has already built a chimney for us for our furnace. I talked to him tonight and he agrees that would work. In fact it would be better because if we do have to put something on the walls (that depends on clearance and we won’t know for sure until we actually set up the stove) we can incorporate that into the design of the hearth. All good yes? No. That will take longer and he doesn’t have enough time next week.

All of this is complicated by the fact that we are going to Ireland on the 11th for two weeks. Not that I am complaining, I love Ireland, but it makes time for the wood stove tight.

So we will get our wood stove on Wednesday…he will come and install the pipe and hook up the stove, and we will figure out the hearth. But he won’t be able to do the hearth until we get back. So we won’t be able to use it quite yet. Like all house projects, it will go on longer than anticipated. But that seems to be the way things work…at least for me.

It will be fun to design the hearth. I designed our fireplace when we got that…..

20121101-204958.jpg
….and that turned out alright.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Heating, Nature, Seasons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Saga Continues

  1. PermaGoddess says:

    It is always better to have something made by a local crafts-person…and the anticipation is good!
    Colx

    • pattigail says:

      I agree and have no idea why it took me awhile to think of it. I think I had assumed he was constructing something with the bluestone not just using a slab. But the idea of purchasing a prefab hearth never felt right. So this will be much better! Thanks for the comment. Patti

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

