Darkening Days

The colors of October are quickly fading to brown. It is looking more and more like November. While the textures remain interesting, the gray sky, brown leaves and naked trees can leave one in need of some color.
A good time to weave.

20121025-150159.jpg
I have finished the scarf I was working on. It was a pleasant change from the browns outside.

But it has been a lazy few days at Brookwood Shire.

20121025-150605.jpg
Fergus and Merlin have been snuggled up sleeping away the days.

20121025-150943.jpg
They enjoy every day.

20121025-172331.jpg
I find myself making soups and breads…curling up with a book. This squash soup is tasty, warm and colorful!

20121025-172544.jpg
The girls have been enjoying what is left of the pumpkins. Nice of the squirrels to leave a little for someone else.
And so it goes. Last year at this time we had a snowstorm.

20121025-172853.jpg
Very unusual for us. Now they are talking about a possible hurricane!
So I it is nice to be able to just enjoy this calm, quiet weather….

20121025-173526.jpg
And know that the bright colors of summer will return again!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fiber Arts, Nature, Pets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Darkening Days

  1. wspines says:

    Hi Patti,
    You hens are so cute and are enjoying the pumpkin and I love the scarf, those colors are wonderful. My animals were all curled up together today too.
    carole

  2. Joanne Gregoire says:

    Each day I look for new additions to your blog. They inspire me. After reading a new entry, I feel like I just left your house after a visit.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

