Weaving a Scarf

A few years ago, a friend of mine gave me her old loom. What a wonderful gift! I took a class and started weaving. One of my favorite things to weave is chenille scarfs. They are easy, go quickly and are always beautiful! I have begun working on a new one.

20121015-234022.jpg
The first step is to pick your colors. There are so many gorgeous colors that it can be overwhelming. An easy way to do it is to pick a space dyed yarn and find colors that match it.

20121015-234317.jpg
There are quite a few steps before you get to the actual weaving. The first is to wind the warp.

20121015-234536.jpg
You can now see how the colors look together.

20121015-234753.jpg
Then you have to put it on the loom. This actually involves a number of little steps.

20121015-235011.jpg
You thread the yarn into the heddles. This keeps them in the order you want. You tie them temporarily.

20121015-235442.jpg
Next they are sleyed into the reed. This spreads them evenly to the width you want. Again you tie the ends to keep them in place temporarily.

20121015-235732.jpg
Finally the ends are tied to the cloth beam. Now you will be able to move the warp along as you weave.

20121016-000025.jpg
At last you can begin to weave. The white is strips of old tee shirts. These will not be part of the scarf. They are used at the beginning where the warp is tied. The yarn you weave with is called the weft.

20121016-000527.jpg
I usually experiment with a couple of different colors for the weft. I think I like the dark one better.

I will weave it over the next few days and show it to you when it is finished.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Fiber Arts, Seasons and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weaving a Scarf

  1. PermaGoddess says:

    Just simply gorgeous…I so want a loom!

  2. pattigail says:

    You would love weaving…it is so versatile. Mine is small so I can’t do wide things like blankets or rugs, but scarfs, shawls, tea towels, napkins…..it really is an amazing craft. Patti

  3. wspines says:

    Looks great Pattie, I love the colors. When I looked through your pictures I remembered how long it takes just to get it ready. The pictures are great too
    Carole

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

