Windowboxes, Squirrels and the Cycles of Nature

Today was a very strange day in terms of weather. After a hard frost a few nights ago, it was quite warm. A bit cloudy, then sun and then rain showers. Still I was able to get out and cut back the annuals that were killed by the frost and sort out the windowboxes a bit. The squirrels really have made a mess of things this year.

20121015-181703.jpg
They are not as full as they were, but at least all the half eaten pumpkins and gourds have been composted.

And annoying as it is to have work undone by hungry squirrels, it is the way of nature. My gardens or windowboxes are just another habitat. And there are many creatures besides me living at Brookwood Shire. The pumpkins were beautiful and then they were food for squirrels and chipmunks, and then I gave them to the girls and they enjoyed them and the rest will go into the compost bin to break down and feed the soil for next year’s pumpkins. And it will all begin again. It is a wonderful cycle and I am happy to be part of it.

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Autumn, Gardens, Nature, Seasons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

