Making Bread

I have been baking scones, brown breads and fruit or nut breads for years. But “real” bread, the kind made with yeast, has always been a bit intimidating to me. All that proofing and rising and punching down. It has always seemed a bit too complicated. But today I decided to take up the challenge.

20121007-184009.jpg
I gathered everything I would need. I knew what recipe I would use. There is a Cracked Wheat bread in one of the Moosewood books that I know I like. A parent of one of my kindergarten students made it for me one year and gave me the recipe. That seemed like a good place to start. First the yeast.

20121007-185710.jpg
Proofing is just sprinkling the yeast into warm water with a bit of sugar. The tricky part is waiting for it to foam. If it doesn’t foam, the bread won’t rise.

20121007-185942.jpg
It foamed beautifully. I was feeling more confident.

20121007-190048.jpg
Next in this recipe is to cook some cracked wheat and add butter, honey and salt. So far so good.

20121007-190257.jpg
Add the flour and yeast and knead for 10 minutes. That wasn’t so bad.

20121007-190553.jpg
Put it in a buttered bowl.

20121007-190654.jpg
Cover and let rise in a draft free place until it doubles in size. About an hour and a half.

20121007-190804.jpg
Now it is ready to punch down.

20121007-190924.jpg
Form into loaves, put in buttered pan and let it rise again for 30 minutes.

20121007-191112.jpg
Into the oven for 35 minutes. This is not so hard after all!

20121007-191255.jpg
And here it is. It smells DELICIOUS! I can’t wait to taste it. It wasn’t even that difficult to make!
Another myth dispelled. And it is always fun to try new things!

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Making Bread

  1. sani panini says:

    Love the step by step pics!

  2. Little Sis says:

    Isn’t it remarkable? A little baking miracle. I can’t swear mine always comes out perfect, but it always comes out better than I thought it would before I started making my own. Congratulations!

  3. pattigail says:

    Thank you. And a after tasting the bread I would say it was well worth the effort! YUM!

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

