Sunday Scones

I first discovered scones many years ago when I was student teaching in Exmouth, England. There is nothing like a Devon Cream Scone……with afternoon tea…..very nice. But even without their delicious clotted cream, I find scones to be a simple, wholesome and tasty treat. They are very easy to make.

I use a recipe from The Vegetarian Epicure. I have adapted it over the years, but basically, you need buttermilk, flour, butter, an egg…and currants. I always add currants.

20120930-094418.jpg

It is very easy.

20120930-095004.jpg                                             

Just mix all the ingredients in a bowl.

20120930-095051.jpg                                     

Turn out onto a board and knead for a few minutes.

20120930-095231.jpg                         

Use a pastry cutter to cut into scones and they are ready for the oven.
20120930-102149.jpg

At this point Fergus likes to help with the prewash. He is a very good helper.

20120930-095413.jpg

The scones should be ready in about 20 minutes.

20120930-102921.jpg
Just add butter and jam, or marmalade.

20120930-103013.jpg
Make some coffee and you are ready. Sit down and enjoy!

 

About patti

I am a retired kindergarten teacher, tending a new kind of garden now, raising chickens and exploring permaculture. I live with my husband, Bill, my beloved dog, Fergus and my cat, Mighty Merlin. We have a small cottage and a tiny bit of land called Brookwood Shire. It is our sanctuary.
This entry was posted in Eating Well and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sunday Scones

Thank you for visiting Brookwood Shire. Please feel free to leave a comment. Your thoughts are most welcome.

